View Full Version : Pocket PC + Cell Phone = Internet?

Elad Yakobowicz
10-12-2002, 09:40 PM
I'm a little new to this and have never tried it before. Thanks to my T68 cell phone, I'm ready to connect to the internet via my PPC, however I don't know how to go about doing that. Where do I begin? My ISP is Optimum Online, but I'm also an AOL subscriber, so I assume I would have to buy and install their PPC software in order to use their service. Anyone have any suggestions, or a link to some type of tutorial?

bdeli
10-12-2002, 10:05 PM
Elad, I do not know what ppc you are using, but here is a pdf file explaining how to connect your iPAQ 38xx with a T68 -

http://www.ipaqsoft.net/pdf/T68-H3870-BT%20Jacket-Configuration%20guide.pdf

As for AOL, if I am not mistaken they only support email via a wireless connection - http://www.aol.com/anywhere/pda/

You would also need to have GPRS access from your cell phone company to be able to do all this.

CoffeeKid
10-12-2002, 10:51 PM
I'm a little new to this and have never tried it before. Thanks to my T68 cell phone, I'm ready to connect to the internet via my PPC, however I don't know how to go about doing that. Where do I begin? My ISP is Optimum Online, but I'm also an AOL subscriber, so I assume I would have to buy and install their PPC software in order to use their service. Anyone have any suggestions, or a link to some type of tutorial?

If you check out http://www.howardforums.com/ you'll find tons of how tos by owners of phones resolving connectivity issues with different phones / pdas / notebooks.

Thanks to those forums, I was able to get my Motorola P280 phone communicating with my iBook, when Motorola tried to pretend the Mac didn't exist... people took the time and effort to hack USB drivers and scripts to make it happen, then details the steps to follow to get your setup working.