View Full Version : Warning: Ongoing eBay fraud

Andy Sjostrom
05-02-2002, 02:10 PM
I just received an email from someone using the email [email protected] as sender. Do not trust the email. Don't follow the instructions, don't give away your bank account details. The email starts:

"Dear eBay member!
Your information in our eBay file, was marked (flagged) as incorrect and/or (fraudulent). To avoid any inconvenience concerning an interruption of your service membership, in future. Please take just a moment and update your eBay billing file. Remember to "doublecheck" all the fields for any possible mistakes."

The email then contains the a URL with an eBay "look alike" page, that is definately not the real deal. On the page, the user is asked to fill in bank account details. I am not too good at finding out what ISP runs a specific site, so I will give you the URL here. I won't link to it in case anyone accidentally clicks the link and starts reading the text. Again: do not follow these instructions! Here is the URL: 64.177.3.234

Brandy
05-02-2002, 02:46 PM
Looks like they got caught, the site is down.

bargle
05-02-2002, 02:56 PM
http://www.geektools.com/cgi-bin/proxy.cgi

Its your friend. I'm more supprised it was a ISP in the USA.

Alabanza, Inc. (NETBLK-ALABANZA-BALT-4)
8309 Tinsley Rd.
Baltimore, MD 21244
US

normaldude
05-02-2002, 03:07 PM

Alabanza, Inc. (NETBLK-ALABANZA-BALT-4)
8309 Tinsley Rd.
Baltimore, MD 21244
US

Netname: ALABANZA-BALT-4
Netblock: 64.176.0.0 - 64.177.255.255
Maintainer: ALAB

Coordinator:
Cunningham, Thomas (TC12-ARIN) [email protected]
410-779-1400

Domain System inverse mapping provided by:

NS.ALABANZA.COM 209.239.47.252
NS2.ALABANZA.COM 209.239.47.201

ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE

Record last updated on 06-Oct-2000.
Database last updated on 1-May-2002 19:59:42 EDT.

normaldude
05-02-2002, 03:08 PM
Note: be sure to forward a copy of the spam email to [email protected]

Andy Sjostrom
05-02-2002, 03:41 PM
Thanks!