View Full Version : Changing RSS Setup

Jason Dunn
05-23-2006, 10:51 PM
We're changing our RSS setup here at Digital Media Thoughts, and I wanted to give everyone a heads up so they can let us know if they run into any problems. Historically, our RSS feed has been located at www.digitalmediathoughts.com/xml/index.php. We've now put a redirect on that file that will push your RSS reader to http://feeds.digitalmediathoughts.com/digitalmediathoughts and that in turn redirects to our Feedburner feed. Why Feedburner? It gives us a lot of really useful tools related to RSS content - the ability to track the number of people subscribing to the feed, track which items get clicked on, etc. If your already a subscriber to the Digital Media Thoughts RSS feed, everything should work exactly like it did before - if it's not, please post a comment and let me know what's not working.

brianchris
05-23-2006, 11:02 PM
WARNING: OT

Although I'm an experienced freelance network admin, I've never hopped on the RSS bandwagon. Its clear to me that its here to stay and I like to learn more about it. Where can I learn more about exactly what RSS is (I honestly don't know anything about it or grasp the concept of it at all), and how it would benefit me?

Thanks!

Jason Dunn
05-23-2006, 11:06 PM
brianchris, I was just like you about a year or so ago, I just didn't use or grasp RSS, but once you start, it's great.

Here's the Wikipedia definition:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RSS_(protocol)

My advice? The best way to appreciate RSS is by using it. I use FeedDemon (www.feeddemon.com) - download a free trial and take it for a spin. I think you'll find that it greatly enhances your ability to consume news from Web sites, and most importantly, to know when they've been updated. Once you go RSS, you never go back. ;-)

(there are also lots of Web-based RSS readers if you prefer going that route)

brianchris
05-23-2006, 11:12 PM