View Full Version : New to MP3 players, need advice

brianchris
01-17-2006, 08:44 PM
Although I'm a network administrator, and am very familar with computers in general, and digital media in particular, I've never owned an MP3 player of any type before, but am ready to buy now. Here's what I'm interested in (in no particular order):

-A hard drive based player, although it doesn't have to be big, because my music colection isn't that big. I'm thinking minimum of 5-8GB, but would consider more if recomended.

-NOT AN iPOD! Sorry, while I respect and admire Apple's hardware, I am NOT a fan of their software, and won't let iTunes on my computer. Plus, I have a lot of WMA files, and plan to continue to use Napster, Wal MArt, and MSN music as my primary stores (instead of just one, such as iTunes).

-EASY INTERFACE. The flash based MP3 players were too hard to navigate. That's a big reason why I'm going with HD models on the (perhaps false assumtion) that they're easy to navigate.

-Good accessories selection. Specifically, I'll want a dock/travel speakers accessory, similar to iPods, etc. The creative Zen Micro has such a dock here: http://us.creative.com/products/product.asp?category=4&subcategory=29&product=11784&campid=20711&WT.cg_n=Campaigns&WT.mc_id=981

-Good quality sound.

-Connects via USB 2.0, and appears as a external Hard Drive within Windows XP, with no drivers to load, or software to use to transfer music.

-Price is important, but not necessarily more important than any of the other issues above.

Thanks in advance!!!!

Lee Yuan Sheng
01-17-2006, 10:45 PM