View Full Version : Who can I legally share music with?

Ploobers
12-13-2004, 09:25 PM
This question goes for both music CDs as well as Video DVDs. Legally, is it ok for me to share music with family? I don't share over the internet or with friends, but is it legal for me to burn a CD I buy or give MP3's to my sister? Could I rip my parents' DVDs to put on my hard drive?

Jason Dunn
12-14-2004, 12:55 AM
This is tricky since when it comes to music the law isn't clear in North America. I'm not a lawyer, but people bandy about the term "fair use" a lot without really understanding what it means. The truth is there's a lot of fuzzy edges to the laws...and I think neither the MPAA or the RIAA really want to define fair use in the courts - because they might lose like the people who brought suit against VHS recorders (who was that anyway? the movie studios?).

Morally, I have no problem ripping or burning a CD with songs from CDs that I own and giving it a family member or friend. Duplicating entire albums gets a bit more dubious - someone asked me for a copy of a CD I bought because they lost their copy...so they paid for it once but lost it. Does that give them a right to another copy? Hard to say - I did it for them, but I felt a bit curious about it. The truth is there's a LOT of grey in this area and, as usual, until the law catches up, it's up to each of us to decide what we think is fair.

With DVDs, if you live in the USA, this is more clear cut: breaking the DecSS encryption is illegal and a violation of the DMCA. Period. There is no "fair use" with DVDs if it involves cracking the encryption. Still, no one has taken this to court to "test it out" - I'm not aware of the MPAA suing anyone for ripping a DVD that they own. They're focusing on people who are sharing DVDs they don't own with others...

Ploobers
12-14-2004, 01:15 AM