View Full Version : Alternative to Photoshop Wanted

djh
08-28-2004, 08:52 PM
OK guys, here's the deal. I have Photoshop CS but I'm looking for something else. You may think I'm nuts, but I kinda - you know - really - didn't - quite - actually - nudge nudge - pay for Photoshop so I really don't feel too happy about using it. I'm a beginner with Digital Photography so I must have image software to sort out my poor work.

"Why not just buy Photoshop?" I hear you cry! The problem is that I've recently bought two cameras, Canon S1 and S60 (which between them make just about the perfect camera, but that's another story), and I simply can't justify the expense of the Adobe software right now.

Anyway, PS is great, but I don't think I really need that level of sophistication.

I'm currently trying Paint Shop Pro and waiting for the amazingly slow download of PhotoImpact to complete. Both of these will fit nicely into my budget. I also read here about the new Microsoft software and what I've read so far does not thrill me. Just to be fair, I also deleted the cracked version of PS and I'm using the 30 day trial.

I would be hugely interested to hear of anyones experiences with PhotoImpact and Paint Shop Pro, also Photoshop Elements. There is soon to be a new release of PSP which seems rather interesting. So far the trial of the current version is going pretty well - 60 day trial as well which is rather nice, :D

Are there any Photoshop features that I'm going to wish I had one day?

Update: I've been using Paint Shop Pro with the Virtual Photographer plug-in this evening. This is a fantastic combination and I'm getting some really creative results, even on some old, rather poor files.

Round One to PSP!

Here's an old picture of my son that I played with. Pretty scarey hey :lol:
http://djh.smugmug.com/photos/7854464-M.jpg

Crocuta
08-29-2004, 06:31 PM