View Full Version : G3 or Rebel EOS?

David Prahl
03-12-2004, 10:48 PM
Yes, I've started another thread on essentially the same question. So... :P

I'd like to get a nice "prosumer" camera for hobby photography - mostly landscapes and nature shots. I really want the "film look" and control, but would like to spend less than $500.

The G3 seems to be a great camera, but I'm wondering if it's worth it to spend the extra money to get a 300D "Rebel". I'm a relative newbie when it comes to photography hardware, so please use small words. :)

So that's my question - as a poor student would spending the extra cash on the 300D be worth it? Are there other high quality cameras I should consider?

Thanks!

Lee Yuan Sheng
03-12-2004, 11:06 PM
So that's my question - as a poor student would spending the extra cash on the 300D be worth it? Are there other high quality cameras I should consider?

If you use it enough, and use it well, then yes. If you end up leaving it in storage for too long, no.

But if cash is really tight, I don't suggest you stretch your budget too much. The G3 is really great at that price. Don't think you can go wrong with it.

David Prahl
03-12-2004, 11:09 PM
Thanks, yslee!

What about purchasing a G3 (or any model, for that matter)? Would eBay be fine, or should I buy locally? I've found most G3s on eBay to be $250-$450 USD.

Bob12
03-12-2004, 11:19 PM
I agree that it's not good to stretch a tight budget but, some things you should consider . . .

The 300D is a single lens reflex which gives you a truer view of what you are photographing than a range finder camera will, especially on close ups.

The lenses on the 300D are interchangeable with a large selection available. Granted, some are pricey but many are reasonably priced. This allows the camera system to "grow" with you as your talents and needs increase.

And finally, the 300D is a 6.3 megapixel camera.

But, as yslee says, if the budget is critical, it's not good to stretch it.

Lee Yuan Sheng