View Full Version : Need a suggestion

coreymcl
03-01-2004, 09:45 PM
I need some help. I run a family of sites and needs some help finding the right software for what I need to do. First I should tell you I have a Apple 15" Powerbook with OS 10.3.3. So I need a way to create, modify graphics to be used on these websites. Now I should add I am new to all of this graphics stuff, so hopefully the software will be super easy to use.

Thanks for the help!

Gary Sheynkman
03-01-2004, 10:05 PM
We would love to help you, but could you be a wee bit (i just said wee bit!) more specific.

Could you elaborate on "this graphics stuff" :lol:

I'll check back in a bit :wink:

coreymcl
03-01-2004, 11:05 PM
Well, I don't have any experiance with graphics at all. Just like this site I need to be able to create graphics for articles news stories and so on. So I would take images from press releases and crop them and make other changes.

Does this help?

Gary Sheynkman
03-02-2004, 04:57 AM
Well if you want to do flash graphics (the moving kind) you will need Macromedia Flash MX and a nice thick book in order to learn how to do it all. For anything regarding photo editing Photoshop is the king of the hill, but you will find Ulead's software line (PhotoImpact mainly) to be very impressive and easier to master as well. For making GIFs (images linked together) you could try Ulead's GIF works as well.

Hope this helps. There truly is no way to just make it all appear. Just start nice and simple and work your way up!

Hope this helped,
G-Unit :roll:

Suhit Gupta
03-02-2004, 08:11 AM
I would generally advise looking at www.adobe.com and looking at their Web Development packages. These come with Photoshop, Dreamweaver, etc., all kinds of software that will help you manage/create websites. Note that this package is not cheap. Are you on a strict budget?

Suhit

coreymcl
03-02-2004, 02:00 PM