View Full Version : Resolution question

backpackerx
02-02-2004, 07:00 AM
Ok, since I'm fairly new to digital photography I can ask a potentially dumb question :D Does the megapixel resolution matter if you don't print photos larger than the recommended range for your camera?
Ie. If your just printing 4x6's you'll still get just as good shots with a 2 or 3 megapixel as with a 5 or 6 right?

Also, I have a 3.2 megapixel camera and I've read these can make good 8x10 and 11x14 prints. For those of you with real world experience do you find this to be accurate?

Lee Yuan Sheng
02-02-2004, 07:24 AM
Yes and yes to your questions. To clarify on the second a bit, scenes requring more resolution (typically landscapes) will suffer a bit with a 3 megapixel when printing to 8x10s and larger.

Gary Sheynkman
02-02-2004, 07:41 AM
More megapixels = better. Even 4x6 prints will look less grainy
plus the higher end cameras usually have better lenses

Jason Dunn
02-02-2004, 07:53 AM
There's a point of diminishing returns. If you NEVER print bigger than 4x6, then more pixels won't make much of a difference once you get beyond 300 dpi in a print...now, that said, you have to rememer that if you crop your images you're losing resolution, and of course higher megapixel cameras usually have better optical systems that result in better quality photos. But quite often it's better to focus on the image quality and lens of a camera moreso than the resolution (if it's 3 MP or higher I'd say).

Suhit Gupta
02-02-2004, 05:44 PM
I think it basically comes down to the dpi (dots per inch) that you are printing your photograph at. Typically, people pick 300 dpi, though typical modern color laser printers can print at 2400dpi. At this stage, like Jason points out, if you are still printing on a 4X6 then the benifit gained has reduced significantly.

Suhit

aroma
02-02-2004, 07:04 PM