View Full Version : Crosspost from PPCT: Dilemma

karinatwork
05-02-2007, 07:07 PM
So, if I was to switch from my Imate Jamin PocketPC phone to a, let's say HTC S710 Smartphone, what would I miss, what would I gain??

I have been with pocket pcs since the time of my Cassiopeia, but I have no experience with a smartphone without a touchscreen. The touchscreen of my pocket pc and the lack of the simple number buttons however have caused me some serious grief lately (plus the IMPOSSIBLE PROBLEMS with the simplest synching tasks (contacts, calendar))...

Anyway, insights about the Smartphone OS (in particular WM6) would be highly appreciated.

Thanks!!!

Sven Johannsen
05-03-2007, 01:54 AM
Don't expect an un-biased opinion over here...these guys are ate up by smartphone frenzy ;)

juni
05-03-2007, 07:42 AM
If all you need is a phone then smartphones are the way to go - excellent features for small devices. I strongly recommend getting one with a QWERTY thumb keyboard.

With the smartphone I

- talk on the phone ;)
- text/email
- do quick browsing (PIE is actually quite decent)
- read ebooks (with eReader)
- take quick notes (although you need a third-party software)
- look up directions (there are lots of map-apps)
- check the weather
- watch movies (came in handy when I was stuck at the airport in London for two hours - was entertained by two TNG episodes)
- listen to music

With my hx4700 I

- surf the web wirelessly from the sofa (using Opera)
- do quick touch-ups with Pocket Artist
- email
- read ebooks (with eReader and Microsoft Reader)
- check weather
- take notes
- watch movies

They overlap in function, but for decent web browsing I find that the VGA screen on the hx4700 is unbeatable. But on the other hand, the form factor of my smartphone is better - I always have it with me. Very useful if browsing for games at a store and I need to quickly see what the gamespot review on it is (has saved me money :) ).