View Full Version : Wireless Devices Blur Work/Home Balance

Pete Paxton
04-06-2007, 07:00 PM
<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20070405/tc_nm/balance_dc_1' target='_blank'>http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20070405/tc_nm/balance_dc_1</a><br /><br /></div><i>"Staying in touch constantly by using laptops, BlackBerrys and other wireless devices has blurred the line between a person's professional and personal life, according to a new survey. While they were intended to provide convenience and flexibility for workers' lives, they have changed the physical parameters of the workplace and extended the work day. Professionals can work from anywhere and connect at any time."</i><br /><br />Yahoo News has an interesting article describing how wireless devices have extended our business day into our homes and other places including vacations. As a teacher, I don't often have the need to work from home using wireless devices but I have friends that do. They seem to take their devices everywhere including vacations. I take my Dash with me on vacation but it's just to keep in touch, not work. When I'm on vacation, or when I get home, my work stays at work. So how about you? Have you been extending your workday into your home and vacations because of the convenience of your wireless device? Is it a personal choice or do you feel obligated? Let us know.

laakness
04-06-2007, 08:57 PM
That is an interesting article.

My work pays for my monthly cell/data bill and I use Goodlink for email but I keep work at work as much as I can. I do admit I've been sitting on the couch on a Saturday or something and will glance at my email since it's on the home screen...but unless it's an emergency I do not reply.

It could also have to do with how your manager is. He approves my expenses for the data plan but does not expect me to be answering email on weekends because of it.

bobmay
04-06-2007, 09:18 PM