View Full Version : microsoft office mobile

egg
04-04-2007, 11:42 PM
Forgive me, I'm new to these devices.
I'm spent most of the day trying to figure out whether a device like this would be useful, and if the software available would allow me to do what I want to do.
I was also told by Microsoft, that when I buy a device, I have to let the manufacturer know what I want on the device, because stuff can't be installed later. Is this true? Because I've read a lot of people's posts about installing 3rd party software (or is that just on non-windows mobile devices)?
So, I was wondering if anyone here could expand upon the program listing for Mobile Office, other than Word, Excel and PowerPoint? I want to be able to edit basic txt documents. Also, is Outlook (Express) included, or is that just replaced by an email management program in Windows Mobile?
Also, can I connect to an ftp site for my website, and upload txt files and pictures/videos that I have on a device? Is it possible?
Sorry to ask so many questions, but your help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Dan

egg
04-04-2007, 11:50 PM
My friend sent me the link, but I also found the pocketpc site that looks similar, that may be where I should have posted this.

If you can help though, thank you very much. I will repost on the pocketpc site as well.

Thanks again,

Dan

Mike Temporale
04-05-2007, 02:50 AM
Mobile Office is only available pre-loaded on the device. If you get a Windows Mobile 5 device then it has to be a POcket PC device or else it won't have Office Mobile. If you get a Windows Mobile 6 device, then any device - regardless if it's Smartphone or Pocket PC will have Office Mobile.

AdamaDBrown
04-05-2007, 06:44 AM
I was also told by Microsoft, that when I buy a device, I have to let the manufacturer know what I want on the device, because stuff can't be installed later. Is this true?

Absolutely not true. Whoever told you that doesn't know what they're talking about.

bvprod
04-15-2007, 11:21 PM