View Full Version : Newbie wants to know: What was the the essence of the "mpx220 fiasco"??

sietsge
07-07-2006, 03:00 PM
I'm a newbie to the smartphone scene. I got a black unlocked Euro mpx220 about four months ago and I'm using it on Cingular. I've loaded some sw such as Smartphone Notes, CodeWallet Pro, and Sprite Backup - and, all things considered, I'm quite happy with it. I sync regularly with MS Outlook on desktop, and it works with Plantronics BT just fine. Firmware is 1.28.
I keep reading (as in todays lead story) about the Moto mpx220 "fiasco". Could someone provide a link to a story or article that captures the essence of what the "fiasco" was all about. Obviously something happened 'cause you don't see the mpx220 around Cingular stores anymore. I'm just really curious.
Thanks, Gerry

Jerry Raia
07-08-2006, 04:31 PM
There were a lot of problems with the MPx220. There is really no one thread that highlights it. If you do a search for "MPx220" here you will find them. Amongst the issues were very low call volume, poor camera quality, the mic would stop working, the battery cover tabs would break off and many more issues. I liked the form factor and owned one for a few months. Actually I owned 3 because I kept swapping them out due to various problems.

I'm glad you are happy with yours and welcome to the site! :)

sietsge
07-08-2006, 05:40 PM
Thanks for the info. Yes, I would certainly agree about the poor camera quality, but being my main hobby is photography, I usually have a "real" camera with me anyway. And so far, no other issues. I've put a "lot of miles" on this phone in the four months I've had it, and so far I'm really pleased. My only wish is that it had the higher speed net access capability - but GPRS works OK for email.
I chose the phone mainly because of the form factor - I really prefer the flip phone over the candybar, also wanted quad band and BT.