View Full Version : confused about smartphones???

enaime
09-21-2005, 01:31 AM
I am having a big problem choosing a smartphone or PDA phone. I currently have a Nokia 6230 cell phone and an ipaq PDA. Thats great, but I want just one device that does what both things.

I mainly use my PDA for Drug Reference software (I am a Doctor), listening to MP3's, playing some video games and watching movies on flights (I know small screen).

I use my cell for phone calls (duh) and taking pictures occasionally.

I know my choices are:
1: Palm base Treo
2: IPAQ PDA phone
3: Nokia smartphone
4: Smartphones with Microsoft Mobile OS

I know the IPAQ will do everything that my current PDA does for sure. Im not certain about the Palm OS, Smartphones with Microsoft Mobile and the Symbian OS Nokia??
Can anyone shed some light on this issue Please????
Will the Nokia do all these things, can I use Pocket PC software on Smartphones with Microsoft OS??
ANYONE HELP!!

Mike Temporale
09-21-2005, 01:41 AM
I don't think you're going to find many people here that will be able to shed some light on your Palm questions. ;)

In regards to the Windows Mobile Smartphone, there is an important distinction between the WM Smartphone and the WM Pocket PC Phone. Smartphones do not have a touch screen. I watch movies, play MP3's and WMA, play games, surf, and more using my Smartphone. However, I don't take many notes (not unless I'm using a keyboard of some sort).

For the most part, Pocket PC software will not run on the Smartphone. The odd time you might see an exception to this, but for the most part it won't work. You simply can't tap an OK button like you can on the Pocket PC.

Hope that helps a little. :)

Kris Kumar
09-21-2005, 03:52 AM
Is the drug reference software available for Smartphones, Nokia, Treos etc. First thing would be to eliminate the platforms that do not support the software.