View Full Version : Newbie question - need recommendation on potential smartphone

MGully
05-27-2005, 02:41 AM
I am a newbie to the smartphone market but believe I could possibly benefit from this device. I will be starting a new job out of college, consulting that requires alot of travel.

While on the road I want to only have two devices that need to allow me to phone, check email, keep a calendar and contacts, possibly surf the internet (bare minumum use) and play music. I believe the smartphone could help me out with the first four requirements and then get a mp3 player for the music.

What I need from you is your opinion on what I should look for. Here are some final requirements:
Needs to fit in my pants pocket (I may be able to change this but I've always traveled with a cellphone in my pocket and LIKE it. I like flipphones but this is not requirement)
I'll probably caring a laptop most of the time so major input can be through that
Finally it better look cool!!! HA HA ok this may not be a requirement but come on everyone wants the cool look.

So any opinions or direction that someone can point me in it would be greatly appreciated.

Mike Temporale
05-27-2005, 03:26 AM
What carrier are you with now? Do you have a preference? And you might want to check ot this thread (http://www.smartphonethoughts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=7950) for some insight on Smartphones. ;)

hubzone
05-27-2005, 03:47 AM
I think the Audiovox 5600 is what you are looking for.. :)
Stay away from the mpx220.. :cry:

sracer
05-27-2005, 04:54 PM
I think the Audiovox 5600 is what you are looking for.. :)
Stay away from the mpx220.. :cry:
I agree. I'll be taking a week-long cross-country trip tomorrow and I'm leaving my notebook PC behind and only taking my SMT-5600. I've loaded up my 512MB miniSD card with 2 full-length movies, a few hours worth of music, a few games, some eBooks and plenty of room for document composition.