View Full Version : Backup???

me
05-07-2005, 12:08 AM
For background, I just got my first smartphone (SMT5600, unlocked it, using with T-Mobile USA)a couple of days ago. I am familiar with the PPC version of Windowsmobile, as I have been using my IPAQ 2210 for a couple years now. But there sure seem to be a lot of differences between the PPC and Smartphone versions of this OS! (I am glad that in the next version, Microsoft plans to have the same vesion for all devices.)

Having spent hours now configuring the smartphone (although still much more to configure), I wanted to back it up, worried about losing all my configuration if there is a hard reset. (which has happened more than once on my IPAQ). I am not really concerned about backing up the PIM data, as that is all on my destop PC, in Outlook, as well as on my IPAQ. But I would be concerned about having to start over from scratch in configuring the phone, adding apps, etc.

So--in ActiveSync (3.8)I went to Tools, Backup/Restore. I have used that with my IPAQ, and it works to restore the IPAQ to the state it was at when backed up.

But-----when I open the Tools menu when the smartphone is connected, the Backup/Restore command in that menu is grayed out! I cannot back up the device that way.

Could this be some kind of problem with my settings? If so, I would appreciate it if someone told me how to fix it. Or---does that Backup command not work on a smartphone, but only on a PPC? If so, what on earth could have caused Microsoft to disable the backup function on smartphones?

If there is no way to backup my configuration with included software, are there any apps I could download that would do this? (Once again, I don't really care about backing up the PIM data. Most concerned about the device configuration, and it would also be nice if installed apps could be restored after a hard reset, without having to reinstall them one by one.

I would greatly appreciate any tips on this. Thank you.

Kris Kumar