View Full Version : infoSync Editorial: Smartphone Users Have it Good

Jason Dunn
01-17-2004, 08:00 PM
<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.infosyncworld.com/news/n/4503.html' target='_blank'>http://www.infosyncworld.com/news/n/4503.html</a><br /><br /></div>"As a technology writer, I'm continually exposed to the latest gadgets. My main phones over the recent past have been smartphones and connected handhelds, from the O2 XDA through to the latest Treo 600 and SPV E200. However, I recently decided to investigate what was going on back in the 'normal' world of communication, and got myself a mobile phone - nothing more, nothing less. Although it's by no means dumb, it's not smart either, and this set me thinking about how the two categories could learn from each other. <br /><br />Mobile phones are drawing closer to smartphones, it has to be said. The latest handsets are loaded with high-resolution colour screens, proper audio capabilities, PIM suites, full e-mail support, add-on applications via Java, full connectivity through Bluetooth and media capabilities through cameras. In fact, the line is pretty blurred..."<br /><br />Have any of you ever made the switch back to a "dumb" phone for a while to see what it was like? When I switched back to using my T68i for a couple of weeks, my expectations for it immediately shifted down several notches - it was to be used for phone calls, and Bluetooth GPRS calls, nothing more. The phone is capable of more than that of course, but I treat it like the dumb phone that it is. ;-)

encece
01-18-2004, 12:17 AM
Becomming very frustrated with the i600's shortcomings, and after dropping and denting it, I decided to sell it to a friend while the selling was good.

I'm a huge fan of the Smartphone platform, and parting with the device was very difficult, but after having better Smartphones previously, it was equally as difficult to keep the device, knowing I could have better.