View Full Version : Corporate Applications on Smartphone - The Possibilities

David McNamee
07-14-2003, 03:50 AM
I was asked a couple of times last week, in this forum as well as in real life, what sort of corporate and line-of-business applications I thought would be good candidates for the Smartphone platform. I am a contract developer, a consultant. I have gotten to peer inside of a lot of different industries, and there isn't one I've seen that couldn't benefit from Smartphone-based applications. I'd like to share a few ideas here, and also find out from others the kind of Smartphone projects that they think would be good fits for their business.

Before getting started, I want to share a couple of design issues for my list. First, most corporate application development projects exist to collect, process, and review data required to run the business. In that vein, all the apps in my list are data-driven to some extent. I believe that web services will play an enormous part in transporting data to and from Smartphone-based applications. It has been confirmed that Smartphone v.Next will have the .NET Compact Framework in ROM. This will make calling web services much easier than it is now with embedded C++. Secondly, it is important to remember that the Smartphone's is not designed with heavy data entry in mind. It is first and foremost a telephone, then a data retrieval device. Data entry is possible on the Smartphone, but applications that require lots of free-form text entry would be better suited to the Pocket PC or the Tablet PC.

Without further ado, here is my list of corporate applications that would be great on a Smartphone:

Workflow Applications