Over at HP forum
, asnwering a question, I made the following discovery:
if you just delete a category from, say, the built-in Pocket Outlook Contacts, it won't be wiped out of the Pocket PC entirely. It'll remain there and may even result in ActiveSync's synchronizing it further.
Say you create a new category "MY category
". Before removing it, it'll be handled as a pre-defined category:
If you delete
this category from, say, Contacts, it'll still remain in the choosable category list (and AtiveSync will still see it):
The key to the solution is that this category is stored in a so-called 'system database'. To get rid of it, do the following:
1, get PhatWare Pocket dbExplorer
2, install, start and enable system databases: View/Options/Show system databases
3, click the newly-displayed \Categories
4, choose TEXT at the bottom and press the right arrow until you see the to-be-deleted category name at the top window:
5, exactly at this record, choose Records/Delete
6, do this for all the categories you want to completely wipe out.