Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!


Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2005, 06:31 PM
airconvent
Ponderer
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 96
Default WM2003SE and Modem Connection

Hi all
I have been using a Pretec 56K CF modem on my old Jornada 568 to access the internet sometimes.
After upgrading to an Ipaq 2750, I realised the Connection wizard has gone more confusing from PC2002 to PC2003SE and while the pda detected the card, there does not seem to be anyway to dialup a connection.

I remember PPC2000 was very easy, PC2002 was less accessible but can't find the function on 2003se.. worse of all, while fiddling with the connections, my wireless was no longer able to connect to a public access point.
I keep on geeting this message asking me to set up a VPN!

Any kind soul can help explain how I can dial up a connection as well as the correct default settings for the wireless mode?

thanks in advance.
__________________
To Boldly Go Where No Palm has gone before.
Capt, RSS Enterprise NCC 1701R
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2005, 06:40 PM
npatang
Ponderer
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 77

To make a dialup connectionin the pocket pc 2003
Go to start> settings > connections > connections > Under My ISP click on "Add a new modem connection" > Go through the wizard.
Once that is finished . Try to go to internet.

If this doesn't help, please let us know what are the settings under my work network.

--Npatang
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2005, 07:27 PM
airconvent
Ponderer
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 96

thanks npa tang..
seems 2003se and 2003 is slightly different but based on your advice, I was able to get it to dial but oddly, the connection was unable to be sustained.
I will have to check on that.
its a pity ms chose to make the connection so much more complicated.
i still prefer the old dial up networking utility on the ppc2000 devices. they were easy and straight forward and did not have all those confusing "work" and "internet" settings..
cheers
__________________
To Boldly Go Where No Palm has gone before.
Capt, RSS Enterprise NCC 1701R
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2005, 03:43 PM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067

Quote:
Originally Posted by airconvent
thanks npa tang..
seems 2003se and 2003 is slightly different
The only difference in the WM2003 and the WM2003SE Connection Manager is the place of the Exceptions button: Settings/Connections/Connections/Advanced (SE) vs Settings/Connections/Connections/Advanced/Select Networks (WM2003). (Also see this thread).
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2005, 04:39 PM
airconvent
Ponderer
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 96

Hi Menneisyys
Thanks for the tip. Will try it out the next time I get near a hotspot.
BTW, do you have any recommended website FAQ that will expain how the wireless connection is configured for ppc? the manual is too rudimentary.
thanks in advance.
__________________
To Boldly Go Where No Palm has gone before.
Capt, RSS Enterprise NCC 1701R
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2005, 12:48 AM
Cybrid
Pontificator
Cybrid's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,466

http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.or...onManager.html

Courtesy of Al Jarvi
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2005, 08:42 AM
airconvent
Ponderer
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 96

Thanks for the link, Cybrid!
Nice...
__________________
To Boldly Go Where No Palm has gone before.
Capt, RSS Enterprise NCC 1701R
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15 PM.