Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!


Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2005, 09:24 AM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067
Default Minimo 0.009 released this time with real VGA support!

You must see it (as long as you don't have a Dell Axim x50v according to the first reports, it still doesn't work with that device) if you have a VGA device it just rocks (you'll need to explicitly force minimo.exe into VGA in the standard SE mode! It works, as opposed to previous versions). At startup, just exit the Console window in the menu (File/Close).

This time it comes with a real installer. Download from here; look for 'MinimoCE_0.009.exe'.

Compared to version 0.007 version in my roundup of browsers (iPAQ HQ alternative here), it has

- cut and paste support
- full screen (unfortunately, still with scrollbar when necessary; fortunately, it doesn't display tabs while in fullscreen, unlike NetFront)
- landscape support
- VGA support
- very fast loading
- brand new settings window
- HTTP proxy support

I've tested on a Pocket Loox 720, installed into main RAM. Booted and rendered pages really fast.

Some screenshots:

Google Maps; with the text zoom pane displayed:



Portrait; the context menu (note that it doesn't have dedicated image/link/other context menus this is the only in-page context menu. Choosing Copy on an image doesn't result in copying the image to the clipboard/saving it; the same stands for links. It only copies selected text):



Portrait; the tab menu it even has the 'close all other tabs' functionality:



Portrait; the Settings menu; as can be seen, you can also change the character size:



Landcape, not in fullscreen:



The settings dialog screens:

Random settings:



Home page and SSR settings:



HTTP proxy settings:



The error handling seems to be better too. There was a case, however, in full screen landscape, when I wasn't able to exit the program / bring up the context menu to have access to the system OK button to exit the app after the connection terminated during the session

All I can say is WOW!
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2005, 10:21 AM
juni
Sage
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 761

Quote:
VGA support
Does this mean that it supports "normal" VGA? What does that look like?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2005, 10:26 AM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067

Quote:
Originally Posted by juni
Quote:
VGA support
Does this mean that it supports "normal" VGA? What does that look like?
Yes, it does:

 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2005, 01:00 PM
zilla31
Sage
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 618

can't wait for this on the x50v...
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2005, 02:47 PM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067

Continued playing with Minimo. It has already become a decent alternative to PIE, with the following exceptions:

- still no client-side file caching
- the missing link-specific context menu is particularly painful - at least to be able to open new links in new tabs (and, preferaly, copy link addresses to the clipboard)
- still no access to system-wide favorites (\Windows\Favorites), not even for reading only.

However, apart from these problems, it's already a pleasure to use Minimo.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2005, 03:12 PM
Arkie_VI
Pupil
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10

"you'll need to explicitly force minimo.exe into VGA in the standard SE mode"

What does mean?
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2005, 03:19 PM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkie_VI
"you'll need to explicitly force minimo.exe into VGA in the standard SE mode"

What does mean?
Please read http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/inde...n=expand,43014 on this.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2005, 03:38 PM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067

Over at iPAQ HQ, iPAQ hx4700 users reported it to be working great in both hi-res modes (SE QVGA/native).
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2005, 06:39 PM
UnLoGiC
Pupil
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to UnLoGiC

That looks so sweet, but it would be even more sweet if it would load on my X50v!
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:04 AM.