Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!


Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Hardware > Legacy Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:16 PM
scoobie
Pupil
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default How to goto command prompt?

Hello,

Can someone advice how I could access the command / dos prompt for HP iPaq 4700?

I have connected via WiFi to ADSL but could not communicate between my laptop and iPaq by WiFi. I need to access command prompt to ping and see my IP. I have set the WiFi adapter to use user-specified IP and same network settings as Laptop but still could not communicate between machines wirelessly. Any alternative way to check the ip setting? I need to transfer files between laptop and iPaq by WiFi. I have not setup the ActiveSync.

Btw, any recommended PDF viewer that can zoom granularly & freeware?


regards,
Scoobie
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:15 PM
surur
Mystic
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,734

No need to be so 1980's. Check out this freeware.

Quote:
vxUtil (Personal) is a suite of network/internet utilities

Utilities include:

DNS Audit
DNS Lookup
Finger
Get HTML
Info
IP Subnet Calculator
Password Generator
Ping
Ping Sweep
Port Scanner
Quote
Time Service
Trace Route
Wake On LAN
Whois
vxUtil (Personal) operates on all Windows CE-based Handheld, Handheld Pro, Palm-size and Pocket PCs and requires Windows CE 2.0 (or later).
http://www.cam.com/vxutil_pers.html

Surur
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:25 PM
TopDog
Sage
TopDog's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 602
Send a message via Skype™ to TopDog

I have a commandline tool here somewhere, but I can't find it right now... anyway, for Ping, I use Pocket Ping, you can find it here:
http://www.freewareppc.com/communica..._philipp.shtml
__________________
Mobile: Motorola Milestone
Photo: Canon Eos 20D
PC: Several Mac's...
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2005, 08:50 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160
Default Re: How to goto command prompt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobie
Btw, any recommended PDF viewer that can zoom granularly & freeware?
There's only one freeware PDF viewer on the market, and that's from www.adobe.com...there's a PDF viewer from ClearVue, but it's not freeware.
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:12 AM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067
Default Re: How to goto command prompt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobie
Hello,
Can someone advice how I could access the command / dos prompt for HP iPaq 4700?
A rudimentary command line runner can be accessed the following way: tap-and-hold the Action button and tap the clock in the upper-right corner. When the usual circle is shown, release everything and choose Run from the menu. It's very rudimentary (there is not even a directory screen), but in cases when for example the entire contents of \Windows\Start Menu is wiped up, can be VERY handy to start File Explorer.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2005, 04:13 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160
Default Re: How to goto command prompt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys
A rudimentary command line runner can be accessed the following way: tap-and-hold the Action button and tap the clock in the upper-right corner.
I don't have a Pocket PC in front of me - I didn't think this still worked...interesting. :-)
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2005, 04:31 PM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067
Default Re: How to goto command prompt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Dunn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys
A rudimentary command line runner can be accessed the following way: tap-and-hold the Action button and tap the clock in the upper-right corner.
I don't have a Pocket PC in front of me - I didn't think this still worked...interesting. :-)
Yeah, works on all WM2003+ devices - just checked on my PL720 and iPAQ2210.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2005, 05:31 PM
Sven Johannsen
Editorial Contributor
Sven Johannsen's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,411
Default Re: How to goto command prompt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Dunn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys
A rudimentary command line runner can be accessed the following way: tap-and-hold the Action button and tap the clock in the upper-right corner.
I don't have a Pocket PC in front of me - I didn't think this still worked...interesting. :-)
Yeah, works on all WM2003+ devices - just checked on my PL720 and iPAQ2210.
That's not exactly a command line. It's just the ability to 'run' any exacutable that is already on the device. Not like a PC where you can 'run > command' and get a window in which you can launch things like ping or dir. There are DOS window emulators with suites of DOS-like commands out there, but these are programs running on the OS, not exposing capabilities in the OS.

As was posted earlier, vxUtil, is one of the best utilities for doing basic network troubleshooting, at any price, and it's free.
__________________
Sometimes you are the anteater, sometimes you are the ant.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-23-2005, 08:21 PM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067

I've just run into PocketCMD, an open-source, free prompt app for the PPC, based on the ReactOS command line interpreter. See http://www.symbolictools.de/public/p...ons/PocketCMD/ for more info.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-10-2005, 07:18 AM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067

Also, the thread at http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/foru...c.php?p=343097 is worth reading on the subject.
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:32 AM.