Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!


Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Hardware > Legacy Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2005, 09:08 AM
scoobie
Pupil
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default Capturing TV images with iPAQ camera PDA

Is this possible? How to avoid having dark bands in the picture?

Or have to use a traditional non-digital Camera?

Any Expert can advise? Hope to hear any reply.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:04 AM
Darius Wey
Developer & Designer, News Editor Emeritus
Darius Wey's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,959

It depends on the source image you are trying to capture as well as the type of camera you're using. What details can you provide in this regard?
__________________
Want the latest news, views, rants and raves? Visit our portal. Wish to contact me? Send me a private message or e-mail.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2005, 11:37 AM
scoobie
Pupil
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38

I basically just need to get the job done. I only tried using a small phone camera to take the TV image which turned out bad. The eye can see well, but the camera cannot. I suspect its due to frequency of the TV display.

I don't have any PDA at the moment and would like such a feature when I purchase one. It can be any brand that does the job.

I like to find out how people can take such pictures.

Please provide any solution & I would be greatful.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2005, 12:28 PM
OSUKid7
Mystic
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,725

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobie
I like to find out how people can take such pictures.
If I understand you correctly, you want a "screenshot" of a TV image. This is usually done by attaching a computer to a TV, or using a TV tuner card in a PC, and then taking a screenshot with a TV/PVR-type program. This provides much higher quality (the exact image!) than taking a picture with any camera.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:24 PM
scoobie
Pupil
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38

Quote:
Originally Posted by OSUKid7
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobie
I like to find out how people can take such pictures.
If I understand you correctly, you want a "screenshot" of a TV image. This is usually done by attaching a computer to a TV, or using a TV tuner card in a PC, and then taking a screenshot with a TV/PVR-type program. This provides much higher quality (the exact image!) than taking a picture with any camera.
Hi OSUKid7,

Thanks for your reply.

What I actually need is to take a camera picture of the image I see on TV.
No, I am not looking for the kind solution you are referring to.
I want to snap at the TV screen like snapping at anyother thing.
Eg. Say Britney is doing a dirty dancing on the screen and I forgot to insert a tape to tape the program. I only have a digital camera. So, what do I do? I take a picture of britney on the TV. This is what I want.

I find that digital cameras cannot capture such pictures well.
Is this a hard limit of all digital cameras. That is my question. Thanks. Hoping for replies.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:42 PM
ironguy
Sage
ironguy's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 630
Default The problem is screen refresh rate

The dark band you are seeing in the picture is due to the scren refresh rate of your TV. Standard video signal is called interlaced. Half the picture is displayed then the other half. What's odd is that it's not top half bottom half, it's every other line of resolution. Progressive scan actually displays the whole picture at once. However, you still have the isssue of refresh rate. I think most TVs refresh around 60hz. When you take a picture, you are catching the edge of the refresh. If you keep taking pics, you'll see the band move all over the screen, depending on where you catch it. I know of no way to sync the shutter capture with the refresh rate.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2005, 03:08 AM
scoobie
Pupil
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default Re: The problem is screen refresh rate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironguy
The dark band you are seeing in the picture is due to the scren refresh rate of your TV. Standard video signal is called interlaced. Half the picture is displayed then the other half. What's odd is that it's not top half bottom half, it's every other line of resolution. Progressive scan actually displays the whole picture at once. However, you still have the isssue of refresh rate. I think most TVs refresh around 60hz. When you take a picture, you are catching the edge of the refresh. If you keep taking pics, you'll see the band move all over the screen, depending on where you catch it. I know of no way to sync the shutter capture with the refresh rate.
Thanks IronGuy for confirming. Then, is it possible to use a traditional, non-digital camera instead?

regards,
Scoobie
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2005, 04:12 AM
Ultima
Ponderer
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 58

A regular film camera would function virtually identically in this case. The problem is the CRT technology... If you were taking pictures of a different type of screen that doesn't require firing electrons at the phosphors on the back of the glass...this sort of caputre would work fine.

Any LCD-based TV setup should work fine (LCD, LCD Projection.) I can't comment for other types that I don't have exerience with, but I will tell you you will have this refresh problem with near any camera...

Why do you think they always use laptops and LCD panels in movies? Is it because they're spiffy looking? Naaaaah
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2005, 07:45 AM
scoobie
Pupil
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38

Hi Ultima,

Thanks. I tried taking snapshots of TV (CRT) images with a simple digital web cam that has a camera function and the results were surprisingly good and clear. Out of 10 pics, only 1 has slight 'black band'.

fyi.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2005, 05:14 PM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobie
Hi Ultima,

Thanks. I tried taking snapshots of TV (CRT) images with a simple digital web cam that has a camera function and the results were surprisingly good and clear. Out of 10 pics, only 1 has slight 'black band'.

fyi.
Web cams generally use low shutter speed (1/5... 1/15) because they aren't supported to deliver more than 5-10 frames in a second. This is why the 'dark' band is not as visible on webcamera shots as with other, snappier, better cameras. (And, inevitably, webcams deliver much worse image quality than ANY standalone digicam.)

I've made some screenshots with my HP R707 ultra-compact digital camera (in auto mode without tripod) with my 100 Hz Philips and 50 Hz Orion TV sets. The results are as follows:

100 Hz TV sets can always be photographed without problems in any (automatic) mode. That is, you don't need to define long shutter speeds to shoot 100 Hz screens. An example with, for example, a (very fast) shutter speed of 1/124 sec:



(Exp. time 1/124, FNumber: 2.8, ISO Speed 182)

50 Hz TV sets, on the other hand, will have dark bands if you shoot them with 1/(15+) sec shutter speeds. The second image shows less of this effect, so you may have luck at taking screenshots of them.



(Exp. time 1/71, FNumber: 2.8, ISO Speed 200)



(Exp. time 1/41, FNumber: 2.8, ISO Speed 200)

That is, if your camera supports it, try to use shutter speed priority and an 1/2 ... 1/15 shutter speed. If there's no shutter speed priority mode (as with most point-and-shoot cameras), but the ISO is selectable, try using the lowest ISO possible to turn down the shutter speed. Also, if there's aperture priority mode, choose it and use a high aperture - say, 8 or, if it exists, 11 or even 16, to turn up the exposition time. And, of course, use a tripod
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:50 AM.