Zune Thoughts

Zune Thoughts.com

Thanks for visiting Zune Thoughts - be sure to register in our forums!


Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Windows Phone Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > ZUNE THOUGHTS > Zune Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-23-2011, 03:47 PM
Philip Colmer
Thoughts Media Review Team
Philip Colmer's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 599

I'm seeing the same problem on a Dell laptop with two monitors - one is connected by DVI and the other via VGA, both running at 1920x1080.

If I put the Zune screen on the primary monitor (where the taskbar is), the display sits above the taskbar. If I tell the taskbar to autohide, I'm left with seeing the top pixel of the taskbar.

If I put Zune on the sceondary screen, it looks like it expands to be 1079 pixels tall, with the bottom pixel of the background showing through. If you have a very colourful desktop picture or, indeed, a solid white background for testing, that pixel line becomes very apparent.

A bit of a shame.
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-24-2011, 01:58 AM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Colmer View Post
I'm seeing the same problem on a Dell laptop with two monitors...If I put the Zune screen on the primary monitor (where the taskbar is), the display sits above the taskbar. If I tell the taskbar to autohide, I'm left with seeing the top pixel of the taskbar.
Thanks Philip, I'm glad to hear I'm not alone. I wonder why you and I are seeing this behaviour and the other people in this thread are not? Are you running an ATI graphics card on that Dell laptop?
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-24-2011, 09:10 AM
Philip Colmer
Thoughts Media Review Team
Philip Colmer's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 599

No, it is the embedded Intel graphics. The laptop is an E4310 with i7 processor and associated chippery.

Doing a web search revealed a thread on a TechNet forum suggesting that someone was also having the same issue with iTunes. I'm wondering if it has anything to do with application windows that are frameless, i.e. they don't have any of the normal window furniture around the edges?

It is strange that not everyone is seeing the problem, otherwise I'd be inclined to suggest it might be a Windows bug where it is reporting back the wrong size somehow for the window to grow to.

It could be that Zune/iTunes has got some logic built into to it regarding "guessing" things like the taskbar size, etc and that is why their windows aren't going full size but, again, why does it happen for everyone? At the very least, you would expect it to happen on 2 or more monitors. I would not necessarily expect the problem to appear on a single monitor system because you don't seem to be able to get a window to go OVER the taskbar now. All you can do really is get the taskbar to autohide and that still leaves a single pixel of taskbar visible at the bottom of the screen.

So ... in order to reproduce the problem, you need at least two monitors. Beyond that, I'm struggling to figure out what the common cause might be.

If you manually drag the Zune window to fill a screen, that is OK but you have the single pixel frame around the window. If you then maximise the window, the pixel frame disappears and you are left seeing the background again.

Very strange ...
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:06 PM.