Zune Thoughts

Zune Thoughts.com

Thanks for visiting Zune Thoughts - be sure to register in our forums!


Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Windows Phone Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > ZUNE THOUGHTS > Zune Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2010, 04:00 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160
Default The Zune Software & Logitech Keyboards: Why Doesn't This Work Right?

<p>I'm generally a big fan of the Zune desktop software - performance could be better (I swear it's gotten slower with every update) - but I prefer it to Windows Media Player so much that I've installed it on every computer I have, despite the fact that I only sync my Zune with one of those computers. It's really nicely designed software; it makes Windows Media Player look like it was designed 20 years ago. I also like Logitech keyboards and mice; I have five desktop computers in my home, and all of them are running Logitech keyboards and mice. I used to prefer Microsoft mice and keyboards, but I found I had fewer wireless signal problems with Logitech products. So on every desktop computer I have, it's Zune + Logitech. But here's the problem with that math...</p><p><img src="http://images.thoughtsmedia.com/resizer/thumbs/size/600/zt/auto/1273773274.usr1.jpg" style="border: 0;" /></p><p><em>Image credit: sad face from <a href="http://www.generave.com/food/2009/09/" target="_blank">How to Feed a Ninja</a>.</em></p><p>Every decent keyboard has dedicated media buttons, making it easy to pause, resume playback, adjust the volume, etc. I use these keys all the time...and therein lies the problem. <MORE /></p><p>About 80% of the time, when I press the play/pause key, it will not play/pause the Zune software properly unless the window is in focus. It will send the play/pause command, but immediately revert - meaning that if I'm listening to music, and I press the play/pause button on my Logitech keyboard, I'll hear it pause for a split second, then continue playing. The buttons work perfectly if the Zune window is in focus, but when I'm listening to music, I'm working on other things - which means the Zune software is either minimized, or in mini-player mode. It's a hassle to have to open the Zune player window just to my keyboard can work. This is basic stuff that should function properly.</p><p>After well over a year of being irritated by this problem, I decided to see if I was alone. Turns out, I wasn't - others have been complaining about this same issue. So I contacted Logitech to see why their product didn't work properly with the Zune software. After some back and forth with the technician - where I had to re-state the problem a few different ways - the end result was this statement from a technician named Albert:</p><p><em>"Yes, zune has to update their software. You can actually try it on any brands of keyboard with media buttons. Compatibility for this device is guaranteed for Window Media Player. Thank you."</em></p><p>So it's one of those classic "It's not our problem, it's their problem" scenarios. I'm convinced this is a driver issue, and it's up to Logitech to fix it, but they seem to have no interest in doing so. Maybe there's something that the Zune team needs to do as well; but the two companies should be talking to each other. Come on Logitech, I'm one of your customers, and I want to use your keyboard with the Zune Software. Why won't you give me a good experience?</p>
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2010, 05:16 PM
Master Devwi
Neophyte
Master Devwi's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4

That's odd... I use Logitech keyboards and the Zune software too, but I've never encountered this problem. The media buttons work great on my Logitech G15!
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2010, 06:34 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Devwi View Post
That's odd... I use Logitech keyboards and the Zune software too, but I've never encountered this problem. The media buttons work great on my Logitech G15!
Really? How interesting. I use Logitech Wave keyboards, and I think an EX110, and it happens off and on regardless of which system/keyboard I'm using. So you can play/pause with the Zune software when it's minimized?
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2010, 08:23 AM
David Tucker
Contributing Editor Emeritus
David Tucker's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,053
Send a message via ICQ to David Tucker Send a message via AIM to David Tucker Send a message via MSN to David Tucker Send a message via Yahoo to David Tucker

I also have a Logitech keyboard and while my experience with the media buttons isn't perfect, its not as bad as yours. The buttons, from what I recall, usually seem to work though sometimes they just don't for whatever reason and I have to open the window to get them to work. With the mini player I don't often feel the need to use the buttons on the keyboard really.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2010, 07:18 AM
bleeman
Intellectual
bleeman's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 179

My home system is an HP TouchSmart All-In-One and it came with HP's wireless keyboard and mouse. I use it all the time to play/pause my Zune software. The only time I have been unable to do that is if I am in a Remote Desktop session connected to another machine, which makes perfect sense as my focus point is on a completely different system, so I wouldn't expect the keys to work.

I'm not sure if HP makes this keyboard or if someone else does, but it has worked without a problem through all the variations of the Zune software to date.
__________________
--Bill
Red Zune80 / HTC Tilt 2 / Nook / iPad 16GB WiFi
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2010, 09:43 AM
Lee Yuan Sheng
Contributing Editor
Lee Yuan Sheng's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,503

Logitech probably uses its own calls rather than the OS defaults (likelihood of this increases if you installed Logitech's own software).

Ok, this is a longshot, but try this. Find Uber Options for Logitech SetPoint, install it, and for your media keys (they should be mappable now), look for the options that correspond to media playback. There's a chance there's more than one choice for that, where one corresponds to Logitech's own media calls, the other to the OS default.
__________________
Baka. Soku. Zan. - The justice behind the dysORDer.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2011, 03:39 AM
maxxbrown
Neophyte
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1

Are you still having this problem? If so, I believe I might have found a fix. I upgraded from Windows XP Professional 32-bit to Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. I have a Logitech G19 keyboard that worked flawlessly in XP, it worked with Zune and everything. But that changed when I upgraded, it still works fine, but the media keys didn't work with Zune. After a lot of research I came across a program called Intellitype Pro. I didn't know at the time, but upon installation I found out that it apparently only supports microsoft keyboard, so after it had already been installed I assumed it wouldn't work so i continued to search for a solution, but lo and behold, I pressed Play/Pause on my keyboard and it worked! I didn't open Intellitype or change anything and it miraculously worked! I don't know if it'll work for you, but you can try!

Here's a link:
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en...s.aspx?id=3086

Hope it works!
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:29 AM.