Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!


Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2008, 06:09 PM
Jerry Raia
Editor Emeritus
Jerry Raia's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,305
Default Sprite Mobile Backup Updated

<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.spritesoftware.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=191' target='_blank'>http://www.spritesoftware.com/store...products_id=191</a><br /><br /></div><p><em>&quot;For less than $30 you can have the assurance that all that information you have stored on your device is safe. If you you don&rsquo;t want to lose your call history, SMS messages, pictures, ringtones and more, then Sprite Mobile Backup is the solution to consider. Voted as the winner in the 2007 Smartphone &amp; Pocket PC magazine annual Best Software awards, there are now even more reasons to get Sprite Backup 6.2.0&quot;</em></p><p><em><img border="0" alt="" src="http://images.thoughtsmedia.com/resizer/thumbs/size/500/spt/auto/1205600226.usr6.jpg" /><br /><br /></em>My friend Jack Cook over at Mobility Site has posted about the Sprite Mobile Backup software update. I have used Sprite on all my devices, and have watched it come a long way over the years. It is&nbsp;getting better with each version. They still, however, do not offer a trial version! They only offer a 30 day money back guarantee. I have always found this odd. I hope someday they see fit to change this policy. You can <a href="http://software.smartphonethoughts.com/product.asp?id=14011&amp;n=Sprite-Backup-6--Winner--2007-Best-Software-Awards">purchase it here for 29.95USD</a>.</p>
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:01 PM
bidione
Neophyte
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3

I just installed a trial-version of version 6.2.0 on my smartphone. I believe it is a 15 days trial.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2008, 10:00 PM
Jerry Raia
Editor Emeritus
Jerry Raia's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,305

Guess I missed that when I was looking at their site. Thanks!
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2008, 07:44 PM
hotdram
Theorist
hotdram's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 301

Their contact info sucks on their website. Basically, all the links you follow (if you are requesting info about upgrading) take you to the page where you put your activation code/email in to see if you are eligible for an upgrade, you don't see an email address.
I bought the software on 4/30/2007 from Mobihand. The Sprite page says that if you bought the s/s after 4/1/2007, you are eligible for a free upgrade. However, when I put my info in to get the code, I am told the fee is $10. I don't care, I just want to upgrade and wanted clarification on whether I needed to pay $10 or not, that is why I was trying to contact them via email.
I finally found an email address by following links like I was requesting help of a different sort. Finally came to this email address from their website:
sales@spritosoftware.com

Is it really spritosoftware.com or spritesoftware.com?

I sent my question to sales@spritesoftware.com

Also, when I tried to use Sprite when I upgraded my BJ from the original ROM to the WM6 ROM, it never worked. Then, when I upgraded phones from a BJ (WM6 ROM) to a BJII, it never worked. Is that because I was using Sprite Backup 5.2?
~Rob
__________________
iPhone 3GS, iPad, 27" i3 iMac, AppleTV, AirPort Extreme
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2008, 03:41 PM
onlydarksets
Oracle
onlydarksets's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 853

I thought Sprite only worked on same version/device? That is, you could backup from one BJ to another BJ, but not from a BJ to a Q. Also, you could backup from WM5 and restore to WM5, but not to WM6. I remember they had an upgrade process where you could restore after an AKU update, but even that was buggy.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2008, 12:41 PM
sofene
Pupil
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 44

Sprite backup has all sorts of restrictions. On the same phone I cannot restore a wm6 backup to wm6.1, not even pim data. Spritesoftware support confirmed to me that it is impossible to restore across platforms/os. So it is only good for restoring after a crash/hard reset. I wish spb will release a version of spb backup for sp.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2008, 02:08 AM
jeffwolowiec
Neophyte
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to jeffwolowiec Send a message via Yahoo to jeffwolowiec
Default Speaking of Sprite Backup

All of sudden...I can no longer back up to PC with Sprite, I was told to disable my Norton Firewall (which I did), make all of these exclusion rules and port settings as told to me by Sprite support. All to no luck...anyone else having this problem? I can't believe that Norton screws up so many programs working. I also am having a problem staying connected to Active Sync with my new IPAQ 210...my Axim's never had these problems. Why can't Windows Mobile products work like Iphones or ITouch?
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:05 PM.