Thoughts Media.com

 


Windows Phone Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Apple Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > Thoughts Media Off Topic

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2006, 08:23 PM
Thinker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 461
Default Windows XP: How to skip the user's select screen at boot ???

Hello friends, I am back to find answer to this "problem":

I am tired of having to click on "OWNER" to have Windows XP started...if I am the only user, why does have it to ask?

Please, if there is a way to make XP skip that request, tell me.

By the way, it NEVER asked until I installed a new graphics card.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2006, 01:37 AM
Intellectual
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 120

I think the easiest option is to use MS Tweak UI. A free download from MS. Within the small 147kb application you can setup "Auto Login" and even specify the password to the account. So you'll never see the login screen and retain the security of a password.

Get it from this page (on the right):
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/d...powertoys.mspx

Direct DL:
http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...ertoySetup.exe

After installing the app, you'll find the feature I referenced towards the bottom of the list (in the program). Look for "Auto Login" and check the box. Set password if your acct. has one. Otherwise leave password alone.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:26 AM
Editor Emeritus
Janak Parekh's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15,171
Default Re: Windows XP: How to skip the user's select screen at boot ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prevost
I am tired of having to click on "OWNER" to have Windows XP started...if I am the only user, why does have it to ask?
Because you're not the only user. If you install the .NET Framework, it creates a (hidden) ASP.NET user account. If you do not do any ASP.NET programming, you can safely delete it via Computer Management, Local Users and Groups.

MarcFou's solution may also work, although the TweakUI trick was primarily necessary on Win2000, which didn't support single-user autologin.

Quote:
By the way, it NEVER asked until I installed a new graphics card.
I'm guessing that the new graphics card uses .NET for its video drivers...

--janak
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:36 AM
Intellectual
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 120
Default Re: Windows XP: How to skip the user's select screen at boot ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janak Parekh
MarcFou's solution may also work, although the TweakUI trick was primarily necessary on Win2000, which didn't support single-user autologin.
I'm using it under WinXP SP1 with a single user account + password. This is a different build from the old Tweak UI. :wink:

Thats good info to know about the .NET user account. I have it installed on another machine and often wondered if the account could be disabled or removed. Thanks!
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2006, 06:49 AM
Thinker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 461
Default Re: Windows XP: How to skip the user's select screen at boot ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janak Parekh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prevost
By the way, it NEVER asked until I installed a new graphics card.
I'm guessing that the new graphics card uses .NET for its video drivers...

--janak
Now Janak, I suppose that if I DARE to delete ASP.NET under such condition, my video card drivers would recreate it, or in the worst scenario the video card would render unusable by the system...

Marc, thanks. Check! So far so good. :mrgreen:
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2006, 07:21 PM
Ponderer
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 68

Control Panel/User Accounts/ Change the Way Users log on or off/

Deselect Welcome Screen and Deselect Fast User Switching.

If you have a password you still get prompted, but it's username/password. MUCH more secure than the Autologin hack someone suggested.. And newer video cards that use the .NET framework for their control panels (ATI as an example) will still work when you're done.

-Roger
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2006, 07:55 PM
Sage
Vincent M Ferrari's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 797
Send a message via ICQ to Vincent M Ferrari Send a message via AIM to Vincent M Ferrari Send a message via Skype™ to Vincent M Ferrari

If you really want the autologin:

Click Start, Run

Type:

Control userpasswords2

At the top of the box that pops up, uncheck "Users must use password to log in to this machine"

After you uncheck that, it'll prompt you for a username and password. Use the one you normally do. Click Okay, and reboot, and it won't ask you anymore.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2006, 09:52 PM
Thinker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 461

Well, Tweak UI failed the purpose. Now I'm following vincenzosi's suggested method. Let's see...
 
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2006, 05:30 AM
Editor Emeritus
Janak Parekh's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15,171
Default Re: Windows XP: How to skip the user's select screen at boot ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prevost
Now Janak, I suppose that if I DARE to delete ASP.NET under such condition, my video card drivers would recreate it, or in the worst scenario the video card would render unusable by the system...
No. It's created by the .NET Framework install, but again, unless you're running IIS and ASP.NET code on your system, deleting it is perfectly safe. It will not affect .NET Framework execution functionality, so even if your videocard uses it it'll be fine.

Some of the other techniques mentioned this thread should work okay, although they're again vestiges of a Win2k environment. Best of luck with whichever one you use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by globaloffice
MUCH more secure than the Autologin hack someone suggested.
This is correct -- TweakUI stores the username/password in the registry in plaintext. However, he wants autologin functionality. It's possible without doing such a sensitive store of the above if your primary account has no password -- and, if XP was doing it before the video card install, he doesn't have a password on that account. (Admittedly, you're losing physical security if you are set up to autologin. <shrug>)

--janak
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2006, 07:03 PM
Thinker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 461

Guys,

To this point neither Marc's nor vincenzosi's ideas have worked. Even worse, XP ask me thru more steps than before!

Right now, I'm making a general backup to flush the hard drive, since the PC is not working properly. Afterwards, I'll try Janak's suggestion.
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Thoughts Media Inc. 2009