Thoughts Media.com

 


Windows Phone Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Apple Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > Thoughts Media Off Topic

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2004, 07:35 PM
Editor Emeritus
Suhit Gupta's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,968
Default Just in case you want a super-laptop, go-l.com continues...

So I have been looking at Go-L's line of laptops for some time now. But my favorite by far has to be their Hollywood. Some of the mesmerizing features include -
- 17" WXGA 1440-by-900 pixels
- 3.40GHz Intel® Pentium 4
- 512K L2 Cache
- 800MHz System Bus
- Up to 2GB of 433MHz DDR Memory
- Up to 80GB of 7200rpm HD
- ATI Radeon™ 9600 PRO AGP 128MB DDR Memory
- COMBO (DVD-ROM/CD-RW), or high-speed 2x DVD-Burner (DVD-R/-RW)
- Integrated CCD Video camera
- Built-in 4 Surround speakers plus Subwoofer
- Optional Internal Wireless LAN 802.11b
- Optional Internal Bluetooth Multi-Channel
- Internal 10/100/1000 LAN
- etc, etc, etc...



So if cost and weight are no matter, then this laptop is for you. (I wonder what the battery life on this sucker is?)

Suhit

PS - I have already posted about their monitor and laptop, don;t miss the rest of their product line, very sexy. They are like the Apple of the PC world (it all starts with their website of course ;-)).
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2004, 12:09 AM
Oracle
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 817
Send a message via AIM to Gary Sheynkman Send a message via MSN to Gary Sheynkman

I always thought that this company is a hoax.....

I honestly dont think that they exist based on the technology they have :?
__________________
-sheynk
 
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2004, 12:27 AM
Editor Emeritus
Suhit Gupta's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,968

So my initial response to was going to be "umm ok? how did you come to that conclusion?"

However I did some google searches and found that there are other people that believe this is a hoax too. But it doesn't really seem clear one way or the other yet. There were several comments about the fact that this company's site has a broken e-commerce system, but apparently they have fixed it now. I went all the way through their system, stopping just short of actually buying a product (maybe the problem arises immediately after). There is also some confusion about who is actually running the place and his true history and credentials. But I am not yet convinced that their system is entirely a hoax. Has anyone heard one way or the other?

Suhit
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2004, 12:42 AM
Oracle
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 817
Send a message via AIM to Gary Sheynkman Send a message via MSN to Gary Sheynkman

ok
http://www.go-l.com/desktops/machl38/features/index.htm

go there and look at the specs.

They dont exist!

They've had the 3.8mhz pc for the last year :lol:
__________________
-sheynk
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2004, 01:12 AM
Editor Emeritus
Janak Parekh's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15,171

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Sheynkman
They dont exist!
It's an overclocked 3.2GHz chip. This review seems to imply they do indeed exist... but check out the video on the website -- whether or not it's available to end-users is up in the air.

--janak
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2004, 01:18 AM
Editor Emeritus
Suhit Gupta's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,968

Yeah, the 3.8GHz doesn't prove their non-existence. Any other evidence? I spent a fair bit of time on their site now but I still can't find any glaring evidence of their hoaxness...

Suhit
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2004, 01:32 AM
Oracle
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 817
Send a message via AIM to Gary Sheynkman Send a message via MSN to Gary Sheynkman

they had the EE cpu before it was annonced....i remember that from reading forums a while back.

Dont you think apple would have told them not to copy thier design by now?
__________________
-sheynk
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2004, 02:00 AM
Editor Emeritus
Janak Parekh's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15,171

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Sheynkman
they had the EE cpu before it was annonced....i remember that from reading forums a while back.
I don't, but you might be right...

Quote:
Dont you think apple would have told them not to copy thier design by now?
If that was the case, the site would be down, company or no company.

Watch the Screensavers review first... I like their take on it -- these guys are "boutique" retailers.

--janak
 
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2004, 05:36 AM
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,135

There was a lot of suspicion about this company when they first launched, and indeed, much of what they were saying seemed too good to be true. They have a lot of style, but much of their marketing is fluff - they come up with "hypercool" terms to describe normal technology. A recent issue of Maximum PC had a full review of one of their computers. It benchmarked quite high, and had a price to match. Me, I'd prefer a Voodoo from www.voodoopc.com
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2004, 06:48 AM
Oracle
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 817
Send a message via AIM to Gary Sheynkman Send a message via MSN to Gary Sheynkman

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Dunn
There was a lot of suspicion about this company when they first launched, and indeed, much of what they were saying seemed too good to be true. They have a lot of style, but much of their marketing is fluff - they come up with "hypercool" terms to describe normal technology. A recent issue of Maximum PC had a full review of one of their computers. It benchmarked quite high, and had a price to match. Me, I'd prefer a Voodoo from www.voodoopc.com

is it because they are canadian :?: :lol:
__________________
-sheynk
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright Thoughts Media Inc. 2009