Pocket PC Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!





Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > POCKET PC THOUGHTS > Pocket PC Hardware

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 08:37 AM
Intellectual
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 158
Send a message via ICQ to gohtor Send a message via MSN to gohtor

I saw one on ebay selling a long while back. it had an actual photo of the unit face up on a kitchen table. it's possible this is the same exact one or there could be more of these prototypes lurking around. anyhow I had messaged the guy about weither or not the gsm is fully functional but he could not give me a confirmed answer on it. I take it that the unit probably won't work (or work well) as a cellphone. and since it is a one of a kind nonexistent model. you are not going to be able to use compaq's updaters to update the OS. you can try to be a cool cat and apply your own rom update to the sucker but I would guess that it would bring more unforseen problems than it is worth.

lol no body will tech support a ppc app installed on this sucker... they'll likely blame you for not using a authorized OS. bare in mind there's no ppc phone edition os's for HP/Compaq.

i wouldn't pay more than 300 bucks for this unit. (the price of it as if it was a 5450)
 
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 08:41 AM
Intellectual
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 154
Send a message via MSN to Pocket PC Dubai

Starting price is expensive considering this device as test unite, technical people may buy it for experimental reasons. Useless if its gonna stay in the lab forever. Note that the seller didn’t really mention if it works or not!
__________________
Mohammed Al-Ashramhttp://pocketpcdubai.com
 
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 09:36 AM
Intellectual
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 116

I am not sure if the seller knows to much about.

On brighthand,ppcpassion he only has 6 posts and they are only related to this sale. :roll:
__________________
Johan van Mierlo-Editor BostonPocketPC.com-Editor Emeritus Pocketinfo.nl
HTC TyTN II | HTC S710 | HTC Wizard | Brodit-ProClip mounting solutions |
 
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 09:48 AM
Pupil
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10

This reminds me of that HP Jornada prototype with the XScale processor that was being sold a while ago. What was it called again?


I remember also, before the new PPCs with XScale chips were being made, a guy posted pictures of a prototype of a Loox that he had bought in Japan. Seriously though, why would you want something like this? I can understand if it's just because you are a collector, but seeing how the value of old technology goes down so much over the years, why would you invest in something like this?

I'm one of the only people I know that have an old 286 PC, but I could not even give that thing away even if it was rare.
__________________
Visit my site at http://www.techmageppc.com for lots of Pocket PC stuff.
 
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 10:09 AM
Ponderer
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 113

the value of production stuff goes down but a 1 of a kind prototype of a popular device could go up, or not.

Some boffin might like to get there hands on this to have a play. Some other comanies may want to see how far compaq got. Anyway, dosnt matter what we thing, hes got bids, fairplay to the guy.
 
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 12:25 PM
Thinker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 451
Default Re: a suspicion...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hulksmash
Given that the seller has a very respectable "power seller" rating, I am confident that he knows the ins and outs of posting an "actual" photo of the product which he is auctioning. However, he has mysteriously "chosen" to instead post a rather dated pre-press photo of a concept model (still has compaq name on it) instead of posting an "actual" picture of the unit to be sold. Puzzling to say the least, since, on one-hand he seems trustworthy according to his positive feedback rating, yet on the other hand he is very obviously hiding something...
He did post pictures of the actuall device on the auction. There were there yesterday morning, and I just checked and they are still there. Actually, reading all the text, it looks like he posted the actuall pictures on Monday.

- Aaron
 
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 12:27 PM
Thinker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 451

Quote:
Originally Posted by arebelspy
Anyone else notice that it uses PPC2002? wtf?
This was a device that was being developed at the same time as the 5450, but it never made it out of R&D and the time. WM 2003 wasn't available at the time, so of course it's running PPC 2002.

- Aaron
 
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 01:25 PM
Ponderer
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 77

It has got to be fake. There isn't enough room in the 5xxx body for BlueTooth, WiFi AND CDMA! Plus the top black thingy doesn't have an extra LED for the supposed CDMA.
 
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 02:01 PM
Pontificator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,423

Whether fraudulent or real and working, this sale is illegal. Did anyone else read the FCC notice on the back? "NOT FOR SALE" was part of it. :wink: Do they mean retail sale, or any sale? Should someone tell E-Bay?

Looks like an old prototype. "Cut edge" insteading of "cutting edge!"
__________________
The One Nerd Band
www.davidprahl.com
 
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2003, 02:15 PM
Theorist
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to Paul P

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Prahl
Whether fraudulent or real and working, this sale is illegal. Did anyone else read the FCC notice on the back? "NOT FOR SALE" was part of it. :wink: Do they mean retail sale, or any sale? Should someone tell E-Bay?

Looks like an old prototype. "Cut edge" insteading of "cutting edge!"
Why should someone tell eBay? hehe Where is the harm? Seller is being forthcoming. I am sure someone at HP knows about it, and clearly, they are not concerned.
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:02 AM.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7