View Full Version : Problems with Zune & Xbox 360

garthommail.comas1
05-31-2007, 09:31 PM
Hi Folks

I am fairly new to Zune and really have only got into the media player becaue it allows streaming of videos to the Xbox 360. Now the problem that I have is that only two of my movies can be viewed through the Xbox. The others tend to be avi's.

As far as I am aware I should be able to log onto my PC as administrator, open Zune, options, playback, more options, file types, select all then OK. Once this has been done I should be then able to view all of my videos through the xbox.

However I select all, click OK, come out of the screen, when I go back into the screen all of the boxes are unchecked.

I have searched high and low for a solution (which I am sure someone with a bit more technical know how would be able to sort in a second) and I came across you guys.

I really hope someone can help with this as it is driving me insane!!!!

Can anyone help with this?? Alternatively do I have to use encoders as per other threads I have read on this site?? This really would be a last alternative to me as I do not have a zune portable media player I probably wouldn't bother. any help would be really greatfully received.

Thanks

Jason Dunn
06-04-2007, 11:42 PM
Ok, there's some conflicting/confusing information here - when I follow the steps you outlined, I don't have a File Types tab. I'm on Windows Vista though, and I think the Vista install of the Zune software removed the file types tab, because it's also missing in Windows Media Player 11 - file types are managed by the OS.

However, the tab you're talking about only relates to what program will open (in this case, the Zune software) when you open said file type. It's not related to sharing at all.