View Full Version : What is the "state of the industry" today?

Doriath22
07-23-2008, 10:37 PM
Ok guys, here's my conundrum. I've been out of the "tech world" for some years now, and, naturally enough, don't recognize anything.

When I was a teenager, I bought an HP Jornada 545 on a budget. I loved it, used it, and enthusiastically participated on websites devoted to the Pocket PC and PDAs in general. Before I graduated from high school, the Jornada had been used so much that it was worn out (even with the metal case!) I moved on to an iPAQ H1940, though that was more of an impulse buy than anything else. I still use it, as a glorified library card catalogue. (It runs Pocket PC 2003, of course.)

Shortly after I purchased this device, I enrolled in a *very* old fashioned college, where technology of any kind was discouraged. For the next few years (ages in the tech world) I didn't watch television at all, and I checked my email perhaps once every week.

Earlier this year, a friend showed me his iPhone, and I was utterly mesmerized. I went out posthaste and bought myself an iPod Touch. Heretofore, I'd always avoided the iPod, almost as a point of pride, and figured that it was nothing more than a fancy MP3 player, and if I wanted to listen to music on the go, I always had a Pocket PC which was perfectly servicable for this purpose.