View Full Version : Good news reader??

psyjohn
07-03-2007, 04:19 PM
Can anyone recommend a good offline news reader? I have faithfully used AvantGo for 6 years, and I have finally had enough. When it works AG is a great ap, but I want to be able to count on the news items being there without reinstalling at least weekly, and resynching in order to see information that I have already synched to get. :evil:

I have tried Spb Insight, but I was not at all satisfied with the content. Some of the things that were supposed to be full article content were only RSS feeds, and many of the RSS feeds were only single line.

I also tried MobiPocket based on some recommedations I had seen on this site, but the UI is absolutely bewildering. I am not a programmer/developer, but I have taken some programming classes in high school and college (many years ago), and have been a computer user since the TRS 80 days, and I think I should be able to figure out how to use a reader application.

So, if anyone has a suggestion for a reader that will allow me to download web content (with relative ease) :wink: for later offline reading, I would greatly appreciate it.

If it helps, I am using WM2003. The content I am most interested in is the NY Times, NY Times book reviews, CNet news, and science news, along with some assorted blogs.

Thanks,
John

Ilium Software
07-03-2007, 09:13 PM
Hi,

I'm a bit biased but I'd suggest that you try NewsBreak (http://iliumsoft.com/site/nw/newsbreak.htm). It has auto-updating, notifications, keyword tagging, and filtering options.

It supports podcasts and other attachments and enclosures.

It is extremely easy to find and add new channels letting you import, choose from the built-in list, or search using Microsoft Live Search or Syndic8 (your choice!)

As for channel data, it will provide you with whatever content the news provider offers, so if they offer a full article we'll present the full article.

Give it a shot! I think you'll like it.

Marc Tassin