View Full Version : bluetooth versus wi-fi

dan.me
06-06-2007, 01:30 AM
Hi,
i want to connect my pocket pc using bt, as i'll save a lot of energy this kind.
Will i have any drawbacks as against to a wi-fi connection in terms of content that i'm able to access, way of access etc?
I know the range is shorter and bandwidth lower but i don't care too much.

I read that using wi-fi i must established an ad hoc connection, is it worth as against a normal one?

I don't know, are there wireless routers or access points that link to blootooth devices?
I'm in the stage for searching the suitable router for a small wireless network comprised of Windows and Linux desktops and PPCs. I use cable modem for the internet, the ISP won't give me a router, i must find it myself and link it to the ISP cable modem.
How can i connect that way please because i intent to use BT?

IpaqMan2
06-06-2007, 03:55 PM
Hello Dan,

I am not an expert in this area, but I will tell you what I know. First thing firt, I Believe in the newest version of Active sync, Microsoft removed the ability to synchronize your ppc/wm device through Bluetooth. So if you want to use bluetooth you will have to find an older version of active synce on the internet. Also if you want to use Bluetooth on your PC and your PC does not have one, the easiest way to do this is to by a Bluetooth usb device. You can get them on Ebay pretty cheap.

Now I don't know if you can use bluetooth like WiFi and access a network. Perhaps someone else may be able to answer that question and also let yo know if WiFi can be used to sync your PDA to a desktop PC.

dan.me
06-07-2007, 01:09 AM
Hi IpaqMan2,
I have ActiveSync 4.5 build 5096 and it seems it can Connect using Bluetooth from its help. I found this interesting:
http://www.aximsite.com/bluetooth/
also i don't see how could i link PPC alone to the internet when all the other desktops are shut down.

Sven Johannsen
06-07-2007, 05:04 AM