View Full Version : windows office mobile

egg
04-04-2007, 11:51 PM
Forgive me, I'm new to these devices.
I'm spent most of the day trying to figure out whether a device like this would be useful, and if the software available would allow me to do what I want to do.
I was also told by Microsoft, that when I buy a device, I have to let the manufacturer know what I want on the device, because stuff can't be installed later. Is this true? Because I've read a lot of people's posts about installing 3rd party software (or is that just on non-windows mobile devices)?
So, I was wondering if anyone here could expand upon the program listing for Mobile Office, other than Word, Excel and PowerPoint? I want to be able to edit basic txt documents. Also, is Outlook (Express) included, or is that just replaced by an email management program in Windows Mobile?
Also, can I connect to an ftp site for my website, and upload txt files and pictures/videos that I have on a device? Is it possible?
Sorry to ask so many questions, but your help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Dan

hamishmacdonald
04-05-2007, 12:45 AM
>...told by Microsoft, that when I buy a device, I have to let the manufacturer know what I want on the device, because stuff can't be installed later.

I don't know who you were talking to, but that's a wildly inaccurate answer. I mean, it's true in the same way that Darth Vader killed Luke's father ("...from a certain point of view"). But, really, someone was being cagey and didn't give you a straight answer.