View Full Version : Handango Enforcing Download Protection?

Nurhisham Hussein
02-08-2007, 10:00 AM
<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.geardiary.com/2007/02/07/handango-download-protectionlegalized-extortion' target='_blank'>http://www.geardiary.com/2007/02/07...lized-extortion</a><br /><br /></div><i>"I’ve been purchasing software from Handango for about 5 years now. I’ve got purchases that go back to May of 2002. I’ve got 8163 Reward Points saved. I WAS trying to save enough points for the $200 Handango Gift Certificate (you need 20,000 points) but I think I’m going to cut my losses, cash out my points and stop buying software from them. I tried to download a title that I purchased in November and was told that if I wanted to redownload it, it would cost me $6.99US. Back home, we call that extortion."</i><br /><br />We've had a number of threads regarding Handango over the last year with reference to their download protection scheme. For $4.99, Handango will allow you to re-download your purchased software after a 30 day grace period after your initial purchase. What many here had an issue with is that the download protection "insurance" was automatically added to your checkout basket without the customer being informed or having a chance to say no - you have to manually delete the item yourself, <b><i>if</i></b> you happened to notice it. It now appears that Handango is enforcing download protection (they weren't before) - you now <b><i>have</i></b> to pay up if you <b><i>ever</i></b> want to re-download <b><i>your</i></b> purchased software after 30 days. Chris Spera has posted a rant on this problem over at GearDiary, and covers the problem from both the perspective of a customer and a software developer. I have to personally say that I haven't an issue yet with re-downloading any of my old purchased software - but that may be just because of where I'm downloading <i>from</i>, which in itself brings up the question of the fairness of selective en