View Full Version : wireless instead of gprs?

RogerStenning
12-16-2006, 09:32 PM
OK, here's the problem: I'm new at all this wireless malarky, and need a few pointers:

I pay through the nose for gprs data transfer (three quid per meg!), and using wireless through a LAN it's be a damn sight cheaper - and faster :) Given that I'm normally in an EDGE covered area when I find wireless hotspots, how do I avoid using GPRS in error, when I mean to use Wireless?

Thanks in advance :)

Roger

Cybrid
12-17-2006, 05:18 AM
OK, here's the problem: I'm new at all this wireless malarky, and need a few pointers:

I pay through the nose for gprs data transfer (three quid per meg!), and using wireless through a LAN it's be a damn sight cheaper - and faster :) Given that I'm normally in an EDGE covered area when I find wireless hotspots, how do I avoid using GPRS in error, when I mean to use Wireless?

Thanks in advance :)

RogerStrange...Doesn't your device show a confirmation dialogue before connecting to GPRS? Otherwise You could note the IP of the hotspot gateway and confirm your connection by either pinging or simply addressing it in Internet Explorer.

RogerStenning
12-17-2006, 06:45 AM
Yes, it's showing that whenever GPRS is available - snag is, GPRS is almost always available, Edge too (though not in my home location - go figure, lol); problem is, while I can find the hotspots, how do I know it's wireless and not GPRS/EDGE that I'm using, once I fire up mobile IE?

Sven Johannsen
12-17-2006, 05:58 PM