View Full Version : On Your Recommendation

Chessound
09-27-2006, 05:56 AM
Hello friends,

I need some wise counsel in choosing a replacement ppc/phone. I understand that people occasionally post similar requests; I’ve taken the time to glean as much from those posts as I can. I do appreciate any who would take a fresh look here and pass along your advice.

My wife and I teach in a public high school. We recently joined Cingular’s phone service and we got a couple of Razrs as part of signing on. Last week, a student stole one of our phones from the classroom. There’s been no success in recovering it. I’ve decided that if I have to replace the phone, I might as well get a phone/PC unit. (Any excuse to get a new toy will do :wink: ).

I’ve reviewed the boards over the last week and have spent many hours researching the different choices available today. Even though I have been using a PDA for about 15 years, I feel overwhelmed for all the advancements in technology over the last couple of years. My current unit is the hp 3715.

HTC is new to me. It seems that there are several copies for each product in their line. Are the various models virtually the same? For example, is the TyTN, the same as Cingular’s 8525? Does HTC make the basic hardware for these other companies? Are there some brands that you would steer clear from?

I am targeting a Pocket PC with a phone (percentage wise, I would qualify my use of pda to phone as 75/25). I like having a larger display and on the right unit, I think VGA is a plus. The JasJar type unit seems a very interesting choice. Much of my pda usage goes toward reading books. I also journal a lot and have been proficient with stylus entry, most recently I’ve been getting used to fitaly. And I pull out the foldable IR keyboard if I’m going to spend extensive time writing. Do you find the slide or swivel qwerty boards very efficient (especially for larger hands)?