View Full Version : ipaq 5550 bluetooth gps and wirless help needed (total noob here)

boogyman
09-20-2006, 10:02 PM
Hi... I have recently purchased a second hand IPAQ 5550 which I can use well I say use I mean I can use the basic functions i.e. pocket word etc

But I have been on so many help sites and they may as well be talking to me in rocket science because they rush in and spurt out something that Einstein would find hard to comprehend

I have been told to come here and you guys have clear ways of educating people without boggling them with technical jargon and gobbledegook

If possible could one of you kind people help me with a few questions I have

Is it possible to connect the IPAQ to my internet (wired) through the Bluetooth on my laptop? (Sorry but this is best way I can describe this Question)

Is it possible to have more than one persons fingerprint to use as the password?

Is it easy to integrate the email, contacts, schedule and calendar with outlook 2003?

Finally how hard will it be setting up the wifi to work with my new wireless router (free from sky broadband... I think this is just a rebranded netgear dg834 or that’s what I have been told)

I have a few more questions but I think it’s unfair me asking so many

I cannot check the manuals as it did not come with it neither did the drivers disk

Any help would be greatly received and again thank you for any help you can give

Nurhisham Hussein
09-21-2006, 03:25 AM
Hi boogyman, welcome to PPCT!

I cannot check the manuals as it did not come with it neither did the drivers disk

The only thing you really need from the CD is Activesync - you can find the information on how to obtain it from this thread (http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=50853&). You'll need to get a sync cable for the first partnership setup however. Fortunately, the iPaq connector is fairly standard, and you should be able to get it easily.