View Full Version : New Sony Reader

davidw89
09-02-2006, 02:56 PM
Hell guys iam new..just registered and would like some help before buying my next e-book reader. I have done some research and iam interested n this Sony one coming out this fall.

http://www.learningcenter.sony.us/assets/pa/prs/index.html

It has a new technolgoy called e-ink which is supposedly makes your eye less tiring..and being a high school student i tend not to use the comp too much because my eye does get too tiring (using LCD as well).
This e-book reader can also play mp3 and you can also attach an SD memory card (i plan to use an 1gb one), but iam not sure if it offers similar fuction to a pocket pc. I am also not sure if it can read Microsoft word/.txt/pdf file downloaded off the text..also not sure if it has like a feature where you can store what you have to do today/tomorrow for homework etc? Like a calender reminder etc/ But mostly i will just use it for music/e-book. Pardon the noob but iam not sure how a pocket pc compare to this..hey i dont even know what a pocket pc is, what it does etc can someone point me to a link that tells me/

Thanks a bunch/

ADBrown
09-02-2006, 10:58 PM
As far as I'm aware, it will only read PDF and Sony proprietary files. No Word or plain text. Also no PIM functions like calendar.

A Pocket PC is a handheld computer running Microsoft's Windows Mobile operating system. Minimum capabilities for a Pocket PC (or "PPC") are PIM functions (personal information management, such as calendar, to-do list, notepad, contact list, and voice notes), web browsing and email, music and video, and office documents (Word, Excel, and PowerPoint).

Some models of Pocket PC also come with other features such as higher resolution screens, GPS navigation, built-in cell phones, wireless capabilities, etcetera.

With any Pocket PC, you can add a variety of third-party software such as games, maps, tools, utilities, etcetera.

davidw89
09-04-2006, 08:54 AM