View Full Version : Helpful Resources for Newbies

yardcat
07-18-2006, 09:38 PM
Some things that helped me GREATLY in my transition form a Total Newbie, to the almost Complete Newbie that I am today:

Read this forum regularly (my favorite forum).

Axim Forum is also good, especially for beginners, and the Axim is such a large community, that may be a reason to purchase one. Also, Axim has a terrific Large FAQ/tutorials page.

Do 'Searches' in the forums, that way your not limited to the first that come up on that particular day.

SmartPhone & Pocket PC Magazine http://www.pocketpcmag.com/default.asp, also buy a copy.

See 'Links' at the top of this page for other Forums and resources.

Google searches can help alot - more than you think.

Don't jump into any purchase too quickly, you WILL become the victim of Mass Groupthink and the Corporate Marketeers, guaranteed!

I know the Tech-speak and dry language that can be seen in many of these forums can be off-putting, as a Newbie, but if you keep reading the forums regularly, you will come to love these beautiful little devices. Have patience, people here will help you.

There are a lot of other resources, but these are all I can recall off the top of my head. Also...Thanks everyone! - yardcat

yardcat
07-25-2006, 05:23 AM
Supprised to see that this topic didn't get replies, but access to basic PPC knowledge was absolutely critical to me as a beginning PPC user.

Just thought to add the following forum that I hadn't yet discovered. Not sure how good it is, but seemed to be current and with pretty good participation.

Long-live the Newbie.

-yardcat.

Menneisyys
07-25-2006, 09:31 AM
Yup, it's the forum and blog seach engines that all newbies should use as often as possible. Most questions newbies ask have already been answered in the forums.

Joelacrane
07-26-2006, 02:08 AM
I was rather suprised when my first pocket pc didnt come with any kind of manual about the OS. It was very strange.