View Full Version : Brand new to PPCs! Help!

Danae55
03-17-2006, 04:32 AM
Okay! I'm a sitting duck. Gimme your best shot. I must've been asleep at the wheel when they started Pocket PCs - or just very busy :lol:
I went to the Getty Museum and took a tour of Rembrandt's later works. I carried one of their Pocket PCs with a touch screen and had a tour guide all to myself. What a kick! I want one - I'm thinking of using it for kids to introduce books to them in the library. What is the BEST Pocket PC (that uses Windows?) What is the least expensive? What is the easiest to program? I'm ready to learn!
AND - since I'm new to this, try to remember to use "standard English" until I get used to the new language! :|
Many thanks ahead of time! Danae

Pocketjumper
03-17-2006, 04:37 AM
Personally, I love my new Dell Axim x51. It replaced my old Toshiba e830, which was quite a lemon (I have a really good story about it). Purchased it for $550 CDN, with a 2 year extended warranty, which I felt was a good investment.

Nurhisham Hussein
03-17-2006, 05:09 AM
What is the BEST Pocket PC (that uses Windows?)

That seriously depends on your particular requirements. Power users want/need high end specs, while basic users can get away with a lot less. It really helps if you decide at the outset -

1. What do I want to use this for e.g. ebooks, audiobooks, satnav, MP3, podcasts, video, games, databases, remote access, internet use, document reader/editor, photo bank? There's an enormous range of things you can do and lot of models to choose from, and prioritising helps narrow the field for you.

2. Which specs are important to me? Do I need an integrated phone? Wireless connectivity? Memory card slots and format? Screen and resolution?

3. What's my budget? You can go from as little as US$200 to US$1000, depending on what you want.

BTW, the Windows Mobile platform is quite different from Windows - you can't interchange programs compiled for one platform with the other.