View Full Version : Vetran PPC user, but new to PPC-PE

brianchris
03-03-2006, 04:34 AM
As the title of this thread indicates, I'm a veteran PPC user. I've been using Pocket PC's since their launch in April of 2000 and I've owned devices with all PPC operating systems on them (except WM 2003 SE).....I've even owned a black and white Pocket PC (the Compaq Aero 1500 series)...now how many here can say that! :wink:

Anyway, while I've been around the block with PPC's, I am extremely new to Phone Edition devices. Although I've wanted a Phone Edition for years now, various cirsumstances finally allowed me to purchase one (Cingular 8125). Needless to say, I have some questions, and I'm sure you veteran PPC-PE users out there will find these questions super easy. In addition, some of these questions might be related to the fact I'm new to the WM5 OS as well. Here are some inital questions (with more to follow, I'm sure):

-How the heck do I install applications to my storage card when running the exe from my PC? The option "install to default location" is checked and is constantly greyed out.....feel like I'm forgetting something really stupid here. For that matter, how would I install a downloaded cab to a storage card on the device directly (now that I have an extremely connected device)?

-Is it true the device can NOT ring AND vibrate when recieving a call?

-Is it true I can NOT have missed calls, voicemail, and/or text message notifications repeat their alarms? (The option to repeat is greyed out for those types of notifications......WHY?)

Thanks in advance, especially since more questions will undoubtedly follow.

-Brian

Janak Parekh
03-03-2006, 05:52 AM
-How the heck do I install applications to my storage card when running the exe from my PC?
WM5 actually asks you on the device once the CAB is copied over. So, don't worry about the checkmark, and go ahead and start the install, and look on your Pocket PC's screen.