View Full Version : Synchronizing Sent Items

jstickley
02-17-2006, 05:03 PM
Okay, I'm new to the whole pocket PC world, so bear with my ignorance.

I've got a Dell Axim X51V, and I've got it set up to synchronize with my desktop. The two devices talk just fine, and I've got inbox and sent items synching great (from desktop to mobile device).

The problem is, my e-mail account is accessible only via POP3. That's fine when all mail comes through the desktop (and is synched to the mobile device using Activesync), but when I'm on the road, I want to be able to use the Axim to send and receive mail, then sync that back to the desktop when I'm back in the office (again, using Activesync). The only way I see to do this is to create a seperate POP3 account on the mobile device, and download e-mail to it when on the road. Works great for received items... the POP3 account doesn't delete items from the e-mail account after downloading them, so they're still there when the desktop downloads them (which eventually allows them to get duplicated in the "Outlook e-mail" inbox on the mobile device). I can always clear out the inbox on the "POP3" account on the mobile device at that point so get rid of the duplicate items.

But what do you do with sent items? Yeah, the sent items on the desktop and in the "Outlook E-mail" account on the mobile device synch fine... but what do I do to get the sent items from the POP3 account on the mobile device to the desktop? If I could move messages from one account to the other on the mobile device, I'd be happy... but I can't seem to do that, nor can I get the POP3 account to retain copies of items I upload from the mobile device to send (which could be downloaded to the desktop as well).

So... what's the solution here (besides not messing with this at all)?

Thanks in advance!

(BTW, apologies if this is posted in the wrong forum, wasn't clear where I should ask this.)

Wes Salmon
02-17-2006, 09:30 PM