View Full Version : What's up with Windows Mobile 5 / Active Sync 4.1?

stsanford
01-28-2006, 01:19 AM
I am the ?proud? new ownder of the ETEN M600
I have flash upgraded the device with the latest ROM (kudos to ETEN, the update procedure is painless, much better than the same on my old T-Mo PPC PE Ver I.

My phone's been syncing for the better part of 1/2 hour.

Status says Processing, no longer does it count up records the way 3.8 used to.

Is this isolated to my install, or is this common. Is it the initial sync? I have to say that it does seem mightly slow!

stevenator65
01-28-2006, 04:24 AM
I am not an expert on wm5, but on Aximsite nearly everyone who has it or upgraded to it from wm2003se seems to have had problems. From what I see they've made several rom updates but there are still many issues to address. It looks like the early adopters are the guinea pigs for the new os. Once they get it worked out they'll release the "se" version that actually works. Good luck.
Steve

Darius Wey
01-28-2006, 05:01 AM
You might want to check this page (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmobile/help/activesync/default.mspx) for solutions to your problem. It's not a guaranteed fix, but it does solve half of today's common ActiveSync 4.x issues.

Sven Johannsen
01-28-2006, 05:39 AM
I'd be patient for a while, if you haven't already. The initial sync does take an excessively long time...especially if you sit and watch it. I only have about 200 contacts I keep in Outlook that sync, and I see easy 10-15 minute initial syncs.

stsanford
01-28-2006, 05:44 AM
Darius,

I have to say that this ETEN (maybe mine's a lemon, maybe it's because I'm in the US) is truly horible. And I've been an early adopter of converged technology, so I consider myself very accommodating...

When compared with my Siemens SX66 the Eten is:
Slower
Less reliable (locks up about once every hour as an average) Yes it is on the newest ROM 1.7 WWE.