View Full Version : Need a suggestion for a Wifi and Non-Wifi PDA

windmiller
11-30-2005, 10:53 PM
A coworker wants to get a PDA for his wife and I have been using a pocket pc phone and smartphone for the last 2+ years so I am a bit out of the loop on current models.

What are some solid options for a Wifi and a Non-Wifi PDA for $300.00 and under?

Thanks for any suggestions.

pocketpcadmirer
12-02-2005, 11:32 AM
I recommened you HP iPAQ 1950(since you have posted this thread under hp section. It has got wi-fi(but alas no BT). But cheer up, its cheap and cheerful !!

For a non-wifi pda I recommend you to go in for hp ipaq 1940(if u can find one). It has BT..no wi-fi

Do ask if u hv any queries on your mind..this is a great site

Sunny

heov
12-02-2005, 04:18 PM
i DONT recommend the rx1950. it's a horrible device.

a) it's SLOOOOOOOOOOW!

b) it has a HUGGGGGE bug! if you put in an SD card, and leave the unit off for an extended period of time, say like 1hr+, the unit WILL NOT TURN ON! you have to soft reset the device, which takes more than a minute to complete.

hp knows of the issue, and i tlaked to their "engineering" team after bitching on support, and they said they are aware of the problm, but they havne't even started trying to fix it yet. they're unsure if it's hardware or software, either. rumors have been saying a rom fix is coming in deceember, but i doubt it, cvause i litterally talked to them.

go check my rx1950 thread a few posts down. just stay away! oh and the wifi reception sucks, if you ask me, compared to the TX.

I think teh TX is your best bet. it's solid- nice screen- fast, AMPLE RAM!- bt and wifi, and a great browser! blazer on teh palm was faster than pie on the ipaq.

or you could wait for those crazy dell coupons and try to snag an axim for < 300.

pocketpcadmirer
12-02-2005, 06:14 PM