View Full Version : Laptop DVD burner

merk1821
11-20-2005, 08:56 AM
I have a general question for all of the PPCT members. Is a DVD RW drive worth the extra cost in a laptop? I am in the process of purchasing a laptop ( a nice Acer Aspire model) and AScer recently add the option of a DVD RW drive. The price would be an additional $50 above what a similar with a DVD/CD-RW drive would cost me. The trouble i have is trying to think of a use for it . The laptop will be for mobile work of my own but nothing that i could foresee needing on the DVD burner (except for massive data backups and any DVD work). But its such a small price to pay. Any ideas or hints?

merkman

SteveHoward999
11-20-2005, 03:57 PM
The simple answer is ... it depends :-)

I am a professional multimedia developer. I work with a lot of large media (video and audio) files and so I need to be able to back up large files. I have a DVD burner on my PC. In 2 years I think I have used 50 DVDs.

I have used maybe 5 for personal use. I don't think I used them for anything that I could not have used a large bundle of CDs for instead .... well, that is aside from one experiment where I was ripping a couple of UK (region 2) DVDs so I could play them on my US DVD player.

If you think you are going to do loads of large backups, or of you think you are going to go into business as a DVD ripper extraordinaire then you might **need** a DVD burner. More likely you would buy one because you **want** it instead.

In a couple of years time there might be more of a need to burn DVDs ... but realistically you won't have that new laptop for much more than two years.