View Full Version : Running programs on external memory

Brenos
11-06-2005, 11:28 PM
G'day all,

I'm quite new to PPCs (just about to buy my first as a matter of fact) and I was hoping to ask a quick question. How effective is running programs from external memory? The programs I want to run are mostly database programs, but they do use graphics (I'm a student and the programs are text books). I want to install quite a few of these programs so it will quickly chew up 32M, even 64M of memory.

I am just deciding whether I should spend a fair bit more money (which as a student I don't really have) on a higher end PPC to get more internal memory or if I can go with a lower end PPC and use external memory for my programs.

Cheers. :beer:

SteveHoward999
11-07-2005, 12:48 AM
Most software can run from a memory card. No sense waisting hundreds of your local currency units on a more expensive PDA when you can get 1Gb of space for less than 100 of them ...

If you have doubts about whether the software will run from memory card, contact the software eveloper before you buy.

Nurhisham Hussein
11-07-2005, 01:56 AM