View Full Version : Compatablity issues

Chris112
10-22-2005, 06:19 PM
I was wondering if there was ever compatability issues with a ppc and GPS software/hardware. I am totally new to everything (dont even own a ppc yet). But I am trying to do the research so I can get the best possible combo at a price I can afford. My main reason I want a PPC is for the GPS function, but I am also a computer geek that enjoys toys. So I am looking at the x51v for a PPC. Seems like the best unit for the price. I am just waiting for some new dell coupons to come out to lower the price.
This unit comes with bluetooth. Now my question is does a bluetooth gps unit come with the needed software (drivers, maps etc..)? Whats the chances of me buying bluetooth Gps to use with my ppc and finding out for some reason they dont get along and dont work. What seems to be the best working GPS software/hardware at this time? Bluetooth wise? Should I lean towards a wired GPS unit?

Thanks for the help!!!
In do time I will have enough knowledge to help other newbies. (i'm a quick learner)

Cybrid
10-26-2005, 08:08 AM
I was wondering if there was ever compatability issues with a ppc and GPS software/hardware. I am totally new to everything (dont even own a ppc yet). But I am trying to do the research so I can get the best possible combo at a price I can afford. My main reason I want a PPC is for the GPS function, but I am also a computer geek that enjoys toys. So I am looking at the x51v for a PPC. Seems like the best unit for the price. I am just waiting for some new dell coupons to come out to lower the price.
This unit comes with bluetooth. Now my question is does a bluetooth gps unit come with the needed software (drivers, maps etc..)? Whats the chances of me buying bluetooth Gps to use with my ppc and finding out for some reason they dont get along and dont work. What seems to be the best working GPS software/hardware at this time? Bluetooth wise? Should I lean towards a wired GPS unit?