View Full Version : Operating System for Cell phones

enaime
09-19-2005, 11:46 PM
So if I buy a nokia smartphone which operates on Symbian OS, I can forget about any programs that I am using on my PDA (is this correct?). What I mean by this: I am a Doctor and use a Pharmacy Drug reference Guide on my PDA quite a bit. I am trying to buy a phone that will do some things my PDA does without the huge size.

I have been told that the best bet is Microsoft or Palm operating system on a cell phone. I am partial to Nokia, so I am trying to find out all my options. Anyone have any advice.

SteveHoward999
09-20-2005, 03:01 AM
Nokia do not make a phone that is in any way compatible with PocketPC OS or the Palm OS. So yes - throw away all your PDA software.

I know you don't want something big, but if you are as wealthy as doctors are meant to be 8) then you might want to look at this:-

http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/index.php?action=expand,43012

As phones go it is huge, and it's pretty big as a PDA too, but arm it with a bluetooth headset and size doesn't matter. But as a PDA it is a much more functional device than a phone with a pathetic little 2 inch screen...

enaime
09-21-2005, 12:56 AM
funny how doctor have a reputation for being wealthy, i wish i had that rep, but i dont. anyways, thanks for the suggestion but that thing is too big. I want something that will be smaller than my PDA.

mikewchandler
09-21-2005, 03:22 AM
I'm a clinical pharmacist and I use the eten m500 for exactly what you are describing. It is small enough to go with me everywhere on my belt...into clinic, the pharmacy...etc. I use it all day long as a pda and get a couple calls a day from my wife and a few emails a day from a variety of places.