View Full Version : New devices question...

cab124
08-10-2005, 08:05 PM
I have been using an HP iPaq 2215 for the last 2 years. I really like it, except for the very unreliable Bluetooth functionality.

At some point, I am hoping to be able to upgrade to a device that is just like the 2215, but with the following improvements:

- Windows mobile 5.0
- VGA screen
- Wifi
- Reliable Bluetooth
- Persistent memory

Is there anything like this on the horizon? Seems like there is so little chatter about new non-converged devices that will use the new OS.

ADBrown
08-10-2005, 08:26 PM
Sounds like the Dell Axim X50v, plus the WM5 upgrade that's going to be available in October. Dual slots, Bluetooth, WiFi, VGA, 128 MB ROM, and all the trimmings.

cab124
08-10-2005, 09:13 PM
But the Axim doesn't make use of the new persistent storage model of WM 5.0. Sounds like this is a great feature.

http://blogs.msdn.com/windowsmobile/archive/2005/07/14/438991.aspx

Sven Johannsen
08-10-2005, 10:16 PM
But the Axim doesn't make use of the new persistent storage model of WM 5.0. Sounds like this is a great feature.

http://blogs.msdn.com/windowsmobile/archive/2005/07/14/438991.aspx

It will when you load WM5 on it. That's why it was designed with that stupid 64M RAM/128ROM ;) "What were they thinking? We need more RAM, not more ROM!" Remember those discussions?

cab124
08-10-2005, 10:29 PM
Serioulsy? I didn't realize that.

So a Dell Axim will use the new memory model when the new OS is loaded??? Coooool.

If that is the case, then I can't thnk of any reason not to upgrade to a Dell Axim right now. It has all the features that I am looking for. I guess the ony drawback is the low battery life that I have been hearing about.

I wonder if the Axim will support the soft buttons of the new OS?

From what I can tell, most people who have Axims really seem to like them.

Thanks!!!

surur
08-10-2005, 10:51 PM